Bacon Wrapped Pineapple and Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made this recipe for an '80s themed party (and called them Kevin Bacon-wrapped pineapples!) I was a little nervous that my guests wouldn't like the water chesnuts, but these were gone way before anything else. I wish I had made more, as everyone was asking for them. Fantastic, easy recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Pineapple is the ONLY improvement I need for this old standby appetizer. Using pineapple slices instead of chunks makes it easier to wrap. The pineapple adds enough sweetness and these are salty enough with out soy souce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This recipe is definitely a crowd pleaser. For a good size crowd, I would definitely make a few batches. I did change a couple things. I doubled the number of waterchestnuts and i cut the bacon in quarters. When you buy the 20 oz can of pineapple chunks, you will still have a few left over anyway. The only downfall is they are very time consuming to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kayson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made a double batch of these for New Year's Eve and they were gone well before midnight. I made the recipe exactly as written, though next time I may change up the marinade with some hoisin sauce or barbeque sauce. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Great recipe. Always goes very quickly. It does take some time to prep, and some people may not like handling raw bacon. But it's well worth it--very good flavor, great finger food. We've taken it to both upscale and informal parties and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I attempted my own version. Fresh pineapple, cut into chunks, wrapped with a slice of thick bacon, held together with a moistened skewer. I first BBQ'd some, and the fat on the bacon melted away leaving buts of bacon....a disaster. Then I tried the same thing but into my oven at 425' for 15 minutes...same thing the bacon did not cooperate. Is the acidity in the pineapple, affecting the bacon crisping up?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharonaruby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
We really enjoyed these. A much simpler version of other Rumaki type recipes we've used. I did pre-bake the bacon until almost done and then used it to wrap the water chestnuts and pineapple. This way, it got crispy and everything else stayed fresh. I did this recipe as a part of the Western Region's Faceless Frenzy July 2012.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Anytime I make these, they don't last very long. No need for changes on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States