Bacon Wrapped Pesto Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was quick and easy to prepare. Even the pickiest eaters in my family loved it. I've even wrapped it in deli ham when out of proscuitto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Stuffed chicken is often dry so I was delighted to find this so juicy - I guess all that oil really does work even if we do lose the health value of skinless breasts. I did what others suggested and precooked the bacon and it was definitely worth it. I'd try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
My husband and teen sons loved it!! I used some of the suggestions - olive oil, garlic powder and parmesan cheese and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Skipped the 1/2 cup oil -not even sure why you would need that and followed the advice on skipping salt, adding the parmesean cheese and pre-cooking the bacon a little. We used a low sodium bacon as well. Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Very tasty! Instead of Bacon I used Turkey Bacon. I sprinkled some Bread Crumbs on top as well. I used Olive oil on top. Very Good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Made a variation (based on some of the other reviews) of this one tonight at the firehouse. Flattened the chicken breast halves, seasoned the chicken with Adobo (con pimento) and black pepper, spooned on a layer of basil pesto, sprinkled it with chopped pre-cooked bacon, covered it with a slice of provolone cheese and rolled it in prosciutto. Drizzled it with a little olive oil and sprinkled a little fresh-grated pecorino romano on top. Added them to a preheated cast iron skillet and cooked for 30 minutes. Served it with a variation of CookinGirl's "Easy Olive Oil,Tomato and Basil Pasta": quick sauteed some sliced portobellos, sliced sweet onion and garlic, and then tossed it into a pound of cooked tri-color farfalle with the tomatoes, basil and a tsp. of crushed red. Dinner also featured a crisp romaine salad and a garlic tuscan round bread. My crew wants it added to the line-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was awesome! I made a few changes which my entire family loved. I first put the pesto on the chicken, added, a little garlic powder and onion powder, placed a piece of provolone cheese on top and then rolled the chicken up. Before wrapping on bacon, I rolled the chicked (which was already rolled up) in breadcrumbs. I then wrapped the bacon over the breadcrumb chicken and baked as stated. The taste was great and the recipe is easy to make. I highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonia
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Made this last night....I did not use the oil. I know one review said that it was very messy to make, not the case at all. I'm not sure how she went about it but if they gave us every tiny detail then we wouldn't be good cooks now would we. I made my own pesto using raw pine nuts, olive oil, garlic, parmessan cheese and of course fresh basil- just eyeball it to get the correct taste and consistency. I think that was the trick for me. I used 1/2 a breast and pounded with the spike side of my pampered chef tenderizer on both sides of the chicken. The pesto spread easily with a small rubber spatula, I added just a tiny bit of salt and fresh cracked pepper, rolled it and then wrapped the bacon and then a little more cracked pepper on top-keep in mind bacon is already salty you don't want to over do it. I placed it on an elevated rack so the fat could drip down and baked for 20 minutes at 350 and then about 18 minutes more at 400. This kept the breasts moist and made the bacon crispy. Again, I'm not sure why another complaint was about the bacon not being crispy. If you look at my photo you can clearly see it is cooked crispy enough. We paired it with a simple salad but this would be great served over noodles with a touch of olive oil, garlic and parmessan or over a bed of garlic mash....it's a simple dish packed with good flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious. I took the advice of a couple reviewers and added garlic powder and Parmesan cheese to the chicken. I used pre-cooked bacon (two slices for each) and it was nice and crispy without the broiler. Try the recipe on this site for homemade Basil Pecan Pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was a great recipe and easy to modify for your own tastes. I added some shredded mozzarella cheese over the pesto sauce to give it a little extra something and did not use any oil - it just wasn't necessary. I put the rolls up on a rack on a pan and cooked at 400 for 30 minutes then flipped them over and broiled for another 5 minutes to cook the bacon on the other side. Next time I would only cook for 25 minutes before broiling though. All in all, a great recipe that my husband and kids enjoyed too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States