Bacon Wrapped New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty and so easy. I did make some small changes. I used a full strip of bacon for each potato and also used small red potatoes. I followed another reviewer’s suggestion of not using the ranch dressing. I was doing other things and not watching them closely which caused me to burn some of the potatoes, but they were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
HAW - thank you for sharing this recipe. It is a great addition to any meat being cooked on the grill. I served these with the Recipe Group choice this week - Marinated Flank Steak with Peppers. These were so delicious - family loved them. And, they were easy to make. I put on metal skewers rather than the toothpicks. It worked great. Already thinking ahead to when I can make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These were DELISH! Everyone loved them. We used turkey bacon and wrapped the entire slice of bacon a round it. A little piece of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
amazing. I added a little garlic and onion powder and some pepper. cooked on a charcoal grill. to die for.I will make these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Absolutely fabulous sprinkled dampened potatoes with garlic pepper blend then wrapped on the bacon......hubby ignored his steak for over 5 mins. And that says alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These were so good. I used reduced sodium bacon which was very thin. I didn't use the ranch, instead I added pepper, dried chives and granulated garlic. Also, I baked them at 400 and the bacon was crispy. Avoid my mistake--I tried to put the toothpicks through the edge of the potatoes at first which resulted in broken off, embedded toothpicks--oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I made these for a Labor Day party and changed up a few things, but frankly this is a winning combo that would be hard to mess up. I made about 75 for the party (they were gone within 1 hour) so I ended up baking them in my oven. Just too many for the grill. I used baby golden potatoes that I poked with a fork after washing. and placed in a large zip lock back with vandalia onion dressing, fresh ground pepper, a splash of evoo and let sit overnight in the fridge. I wrapped the potatoes with thick cut bacon (tucked the ends on the underside) from GFS (my fav) in the morning and again placed back in the fridge until I was ready to bake. This helped the bacon to set around the potatoe nicely without using toothpicks. I baked them at 400 for about 45 minutes and they were perfect. I served with a side bowl of 'Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce" Next time I might sprinkle with some finely shredded cheddar cheese at the very end of baking, or maybe try these with a bit of brown sugar sprinked on top when rolling up, and just before placing back in the fridge. As I said, this is just one of those recipes that whatever you do, it will be great tasting, and make you look like a wonder in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
mmmmmmmmmmm good fast and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great idea for entertaining! I adapted this recipe by cooking my potatoes in the oven at 375 for about 35 minutes or until the potatoes were soft. I also cut a sweet potato into 1 inch thick pieces and wrapped a whole strip of bacon around it. The sweet potato won on the taste test! I also sprinkled fresh rosemary and sage over the bacon wrapped potatoes which added a nice flavor and smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Made this and they were delicious. I used the cheaper store brand bacon which was fattier and I think the fat really soaked into the potatoes making them delicious. I had to cook them a little longer, more like 40 minutes because I had the heat too low but they still came out fantastic. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States