Bacon Wrapped New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These were pretty tasty and would make them again next time without the ranch dressing mix. It made them a little too salty. Next time I will roll in garlic olive oil and wrap in the bacon. Depending on the size of your potatoes you might need more bacon. I did par boil my potatoes - cooled and then wrapped them in bacon. They can be made ahead and stored in the refrigerator. They are a bit fiddley to assemble - but easy and fast to grill. Keep your eye on them though so they don't go up in flames! *** Yes, these can be done in the oven. Might make for a tasty appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These were DELISH! Everyone loved them. We used turkey bacon and wrapped the entire slice of bacon a round it. A little piece of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
amazing. I added a little garlic and onion powder and some pepper. cooked on a charcoal grill. to die for.I will make these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Loved it!!! My whole family enjoyed them. They were very simple. I read the other reviews but I didn't think it was neccessary to "pre-cook" the bacon. It cooked up beautifully! Next time I will add garlic...a new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bszostak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I used fingerling potatoes instead and they wrapped so well! Then basted in bbq sauce for the extra zing! perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Absolutely fabulous sprinkled dampened potatoes with garlic pepper blend then wrapped on the bacon......hubby ignored his steak for over 5 mins. And that says alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty and so easy. I did make some small changes. I used a full strip of bacon for each potato and also used small red potatoes. I followed another reviewer’s suggestion of not using the ranch dressing. I was doing other things and not watching them closely which caused me to burn some of the potatoes, but they were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These were so good. I used reduced sodium bacon which was very thin. I didn't use the ranch, instead I added pepper, dried chives and granulated garlic. Also, I baked them at 400 and the bacon was crispy. Avoid my mistake--I tried to put the toothpicks through the edge of the potatoes at first which resulted in broken off, embedded toothpicks--oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
HAW - thank you for sharing this recipe. It is a great addition to any meat being cooked on the grill. I served these with the Recipe Group choice this week - Marinated Flank Steak with Peppers. These were so delicious - family loved them. And, they were easy to make. I put on metal skewers rather than the toothpicks. It worked great. Already thinking ahead to when I can make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I fixed this recipe with some minor additions and it was a huge hit. I added garlic powder, black pepper and Mrs. Dash Spicy seasoning. I would recommend using 1/2 strip of bacon rather than 1/3. I wrapped fingerling potatoes and 1/3 was not enough bacon to fully wrap. It also took longer to grill than 20-30 minutes... more like 40 minnutes, they were placed on a veggie grill tray rather than directly on the grill. Hard to turn with toothpicks. While I'm no longer a big bacon eater, I would still make this one again. Delicious and it got lots of positive comments from the party-goers last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States