Bacon Wrapped New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I read all of the reviews and made some changes based on what I read. I pre-cooked the potatoes and bacon, just a little, in the microwave. Wrapped the bacon around each potato and threaded 3 potatoes onto a skewer. These were OK, just not as flavorful as I would have liked. Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
WE LOVED THESE! I par-boiled my potatoes, as Baking Nana suggested. I skewered 5 onto a skewer and cooked as directed. Made a wonderful side to our steaks, and I will def be making these again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I made these tonight to go with roasted asparagus and grilled lamb tips and they were so good! ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Made this and they were delicious. I used the cheaper store brand bacon which was fattier and I think the fat really soaked into the potatoes making them delicious. I had to cook them a little longer, more like 40 minutes because I had the heat too low but they still came out fantastic. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great idea for entertaining! I adapted this recipe by cooking my potatoes in the oven at 375 for about 35 minutes or until the potatoes were soft. I also cut a sweet potato into 1 inch thick pieces and wrapped a whole strip of bacon around it. The sweet potato won on the taste test! I also sprinkled fresh rosemary and sage over the bacon wrapped potatoes which added a nice flavor and smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
So delicious and easy, only thing is some of my friend are on low carb diets. i found this amazing recipe that is basically the same but uses fish wrapped in bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
These potatoes were very good. I parboiled mine and put them on skewers instead of toothpicks, leaving room between each so that the bacon could crisp. Very well received by family and guests. Thanks for sharing this recipe, hungryallweighs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These were fantastic! I used red skin potatoes and half a package of ranch dressing. I also put them on skewers for the grill. I will be making these potatoes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Maker of Dinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These were fantastic! I par-boiled the new potatoes and then instead of using ranch mix (which I find too salty) I coated them with olive oil, garlic powder, salt and pepper and then wrapped them with thick bacon (Wright's) and baked on a broiler pan in the oven for 20 minutes or so at 400 degrees. We dipped them in sour cream and they were to-die-for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I had high hopes for these (I mean, they've got bacon! And ranch!), but they were definately the low point of our meal this evening. I gave them a "3" and Mr. LTH a "4", so I'll round up to the 4. As is evident by my yucky photo, our bacon didn't ever get crisp (Mr. LTH has issues w/bacon and the grill...I'm not sure what the issue is as I happily leave the grilling to him). Assuming that's just a Mr. LTH error, I still wasn't thrilled w/the flavor of the potatoes. Mr. LTH loves anything potato, so he thought they were "good". While I'm glad we tried these, they won't become a part of our regular potato rotation. THANKS, hungryallweighs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States