Bacon Wrapped Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I made this twice, the first time with the egg and the second time without and I definately reccomend leaving the egg out if you don't want the meatloaf texture! It tasted great and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
467 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
A truly excellent take on the standard burger-on-a-grill. I won't bother with the telling you what I added or subtracted... most grillers have their own "special" ingredients that they swear by... I'll mention two things that seem to be a recurring theme. One is cooking the bacon and the burger together. This is caused by the thickness of the bacon, and the heat of the grill. If you're using standard grocery-store bacon, then you're probably fine with a high-heat grill; however, if you're working with a thick slab bacon, you might want to slightly lower the grill temperature and give the burger time to catch up with the bacon... The other issue is how the burgers hold up on the grill., and this is partially due to the binding proteins in the egg. If you're following the recipe and using 1 lb of hamburger, then only use 1/2 an egg. Once you've got it mixed in, form into patties, and let rest (covered) in the refrigerator for at least an hour... longer, if you have the time. Even so, they're still a bit tender on the grill, so make sure that you preheat the grill, then scrape the grill with a wire brush. Finally, put some veggie oil on a paper towel, and rub down the grill, just before cooking. This should keep the grill slick, and reduce the chance of them breaking apart. With the exception of reducing the egg by 1/2, I would strongly recommend that you try this recipe, as written. Even if you're not of fan of onions, you just might be surprised at what you taste... keep the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
442 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sous Andy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I dont know what JVDMD did wrong, but these burgers are absolutely fantastic! I made them for a dinner at our annual cottage family reunion and they were a huge success!! Everyone raved, and every last burger was devoured. Even my aunt, who eats nothing, ate THREE!! They were honestly the best burger I have ever eaten, at home or at a restaurant. I must admit I did make a couple changes, but that was only to suit the tastes of my family (We LOVE garlic). I was using about 6lbs of groundbeef, so to the recipe I added 3 cloves of garlic, a dash of Clubhouse Garlic Plus seasoning, and a dash of oregano. I added less Worcestershire sauce, and omitted the ketchup, instead adding a spicy bbq sauce (exact amount unknown but greater than the amount of ketchup called for). I also left out the Parmesan and added extra cheddar, onion and black pepper. Once again, these are the most delicious burgers!!!! Thanks so much for the recipe!! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Juicy, but the burgers have to be handled with care. To ensure crispy bacon, cook it to soft stage before using on the burgers. This also helps reduce the amount of flare-ups from excess bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
My boyfriend and I loved these! I chose to cook them in a skillet though, as I was afraid the bacon would stick to the grill or fall off. I wrapped them from top to bottom, rather than around the sides. Frying them slowly made the bacon come out just right, and the meat cooked through. I put Swiss cheese on them, with dijon mustard and mayo...YUM!! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I loved these. A lot of people wrote that the bacon took too long to cook. We did not have that problem. I just bought some cheap bacon from Aldi and it worked great. Plus, my husband laughed at making 6 burgers from a pound of meat. He made 3 burgers instead and really they were perfect size. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmcminn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
May sound crazy - but I make these with cream cheese instead of cheddar and/or parmasean, bread crumbs and more pepper! I mix up the meat without the cheese, roll into ball and burrow a teaspoon or so of cream cheese into ball, flatten out into patty, wrap the bacon and grill! Juicy & Yum, Yum, Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Juicy it is but the burger does not hold together well and the bacon does not get very done standing on edge like that. Need to adjust the recipe to discard the bacon after the burger is cooked and do something to make the meat hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
These are fabulous! Word of CAUTION: Do you have a water bottle nearby for flames/flare-ups from bacon grease. These are the juicest burgers ever! I think I will put some foil down & poke holes in it next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
While watching a cooking show I had seen someone prepare burgers like this...I hoped that there was a recipe like this on here...and I got lucky. These are delicious. We omitted the ketchup, but followed everything else. Will make this again and again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States