Bacon Wrapped Duck Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GARRY67
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Delicious...but...next time I cook this dish, and there will be a next time, I will soak in plain water instead of salt water, or soak for less time, together with the bacon, which is also salty, this dish was slightly too salty.I served with long grain & wild rice as I hadn't tried wild rice before, it wonderful, next time wild rice only. This was the first time my wife had had duck, and she enjoyed it, but it was a little rich for her. I love duck, but it seems to be an aquired taste with some people. Also needs a little something as served with rice and bread its quite a dry meal, even with a glass of white wine as we had. Garry Smith
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I have to be creative since I am related to several men who love to hunt. Since waterfowl season recently opened, (and the men's hunt was successful) I had to find some ways to prepare this bird. I'll be honest, I'm NOT a fan of duck (or wild goose) but this recipe was great! I followed the recipe exactly - except I only marinated in Italian dressing for 5 hours instead of eight. Also, I didn't need to secure with toothpicks, I just wrapped the bacon around the breast and placed it seam side down. BUT - I had to flip 3/4 of the way through so that the bacon that was on the bottom would turn crisp like the top had. Thanks Triboys for the easy, no hassel, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Finally, a way to fix all the duck my husband brings home from hunting! I did think it was a little salty and will cut down on that next time. I loved the bacon taste and may double the bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My husband doesnt like italian dressing, so I took the bacon idea and changed the rest. I only soak the duck in plain water, then I saute mushrooms, onion and garlic. Butterfly the breasts and stuff the mixture inside, then wrap in bacon. I then grill the duck until the bacon is nice and crisp. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Being an avid waterfowl hunter as well as cook, I always have lots of duck and goose to cook. I've cooked it just about everyway you can think of and this is one of my favorites. I will throw a couple suggestions out that I use as an addition to this base. First, I alwasy slice my duck breasts into the size chunks I'm going to use before I marinate them. Secondly, sometimes I soad them in cola for 24 hours or so. The italian dressing is a must and leave it in there as long as you can (24 hours isn't too much). The only other thing I do is to add a half pepperocini, water chestnut, banana pepper or jalepeno between the duck and the bacon - just to give it a little something else. Cook until the bacon is done and DO NOT OVER COOK - medium or medium rare is the way to go. Wash down with ice cold beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dukslayr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I tweeked this a bit; first, we raise our own domestic ducks, and we enjoy the flavor of duck. So I don't soak the meat to remove any flavor from it, nor do I marinate it in anything. I use the other reviewer's suggestion of the jalepeno and it's a big hit. I simply lay out a piece of bacon (I use turkey bacon to cut out a little of the fat), lay a piece of duck on it, put a jalepeno in the center of the duck and roll it all up. I usually chop up some fresh veggies and bake the duck on top of the veggies. I've also grilled it the same way, except I wrapped it all up in foil to retain the moisture. It's been a huge hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I have made this dish many times and it is always a crowd favorite. If someone is new to duck, this would be perfect! NOTE: I sometimes use 50/50 Italian dressing & Ranch Dressing - sounds weird, but it's amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
A great way to prepare duck! Mine did not take an hour to cook, more like 40-45 minutes. My husband and son are both avid waterfowl hunters and I'm always looking for new ways to prepare what they bring home. This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This was ok...I didn't soak or marinate as long as recommended, and didn't really like the Italian flavor the dressing added to the duck. I did double up on the bacon though (hoping to try and get this meat past my 9 yr old son). The bacon does help, but as mentioned in a previous review, when cooking in the oven you might want to turn meat over after bacon crisps to allow the bacon on the underside to crisp also. In the end it wasn't anything I'll probably make again. Think next time I cook duck, I'll go with a little bit more "traditional" of a recipe for duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States