Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
These dates are served at a downtown tapas restaurant in Atlanta; a friend of mine who raved about them taled me into trying one although I have never particularly cared for dates. I am so happy I did. These are wonderful, easy to make and your guests will be coming back for more - that is if you want to serve them to guests - I might be inclined to keep them all for myself. A good glass of red wine and you have a real treat! Note: the restaurant mentioned grills theirs to the point where the bacon becomes blackened on the top. Either way, if you grill or bake them, I suggest doing so on a rack so that they don't sit any grease that comes from the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made these for thanksgiving this year. They were delicious and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
The blue cheese is a very nice twist. I feel it is better than Parmasian-Regianno cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
These were good, but the bacon wrapped dates stuffed with almonds were by far the bigger hit at the party ... even the blue cheese fanatics prefered the "crunch" of the almond stuffed version. Good, but will stick to the other (which were easier to work with as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I am a terrible cook, but this recipe was easy to follow and a tremendous success at the party I brought them to. I had to hide some of them to share with some friends that were coming later. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These are absolutely heavenly! I did a test-run before the party... my guess is they'll be gorgeous with a champagne cocktail or a nice white wine (even a Chardonnay might be good). I tried some with Old Amsterdam cheese (like Gouda) and some with almonds - both turned out great! I used Medjool dates, which are very plump and rich. Also, I found that there was no real need to use a toothpick - the bacon stayed wrapped by itself. Lastly, I baked them on a broil pan so the bacon grease had a place to drip into. I can't wait to serve these to my guests! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These are absolutely one of the best appetizers I have ever had, and certainly ever made! Wonderful. Easy. Addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
These tasty bites were such a hit the first time I made them....I am making them again for New Years. The combination of sweet, tangy and salty is the best. They took a little longer in the oven to get the bacon toasty brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is amazing ! No one flavour dominates so even date and blue cheese haters loved it. I will make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I love these! I was first served these in France by my sister's new mother-in-law with Champagne before our meal and have been making them since. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States