Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Yummy!!! We are not big Blue cheese fans so we made 1/2 with feta & 1/2 with goat cheese. They turned out great!!! I also made a few with veggie bacon (since I don't eat bacon) & they also turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Amazing! I grilled them really low for about 45 minutes and they turned out incredible. Served with a balsamic reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
One of my favorite things to make for parties. They are always a big hit, even with my friends that don't expect to like them. Just be careful not to over cook them because if the dates burn they have that bitter burnt-sugar taste, which just ruins the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Adding the reduced balsamic vinegar makes a great appetizer outstanding. Had it served this way in a Tapas bar in Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Really good with goat cheese stuffing as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I make these every year for our 4th of July party, and everyone loves them! I use goat cheese and add in a smoked almond. They are very rich, but so very delicious. They cook very well on a bbq, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Made this exactly as instructed. AWESOME. Only recommendation: DO NOT USE CHEAP BLUE CHEESE!!! Don't use "Treasure Cave" or any other kind of blue cheese that looks dry or made for crumbling into a salad (I've done this recipe a number of times with different blue cheeses). You want moist blue cheese that can easily be shoved into a date. Something with a little stickiness to it. Otherwise, the cheese just crumbles everywhere and is difficult to stuff. The moister cheese melts a little bit more, so if you can't get the bacon entirely around the date, you lose some of it, but don't worry...it still tastes great...and most of the cheese stays in there. I don't bother with the toothpicks usually (I wrap the bacon so the ends are on the bottom) but tastes great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The best appey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
We love this recipe. Just the right balance of sweet, salty and very creamy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made these this past Christmas and am pulling it up again for the recipe, so thought I would review. I used Mejdool (spelling?) dates and stuffed with a mix of chopped smoked almonds and blue cheese. I let the bacon soak up some brown sugar before I wrapped the dates. I used thin bacon and had no problem with it cooking in 30 minutes, 15 minutes per side. I used skewers and put several on a skewer on a broiling pan to let them drip. TO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States