Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I can always count on bringing my plate home empty when I take these to any event. I use blue cheese crumbles, add an almond, and to cut down on the fat and mess of the bacon grease and to shorten the cooking time, I partially cook the bacon in the microwave, then top or stuff the date with a small piece of bacon. This preserves the saltiness and chewiness of the bacon, decreases the cooking time, and the dates are warmed instead of cooked to a somewhat hard consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcpoindexter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
used manchengo cheese. One of my favortie appetizers! always a hit at parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made these for Christmas Eve appetizers with family over, and I made some with goat cheese, some with blue cheese, and others with no cheese. All were delicious, and they do well for reheated leftovers for a quick snack. Very tasty---they went quicker than other appetizers that we had out. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
After the rave reviews on how good these were I had to try them. However I was disappointed. I stuffed half of the dates with blue cheese and half with almonds. We really couldn't taste the blue cheese. Couldn't really taste the date. I didn't find the need to secure them with a toothpick. Bacon at room temp wraps nicely around the date. I placed the appetizers on a cooling rack inside of a jelly roll pan for even baking. The oven got smoky so I covered them loosely with aluminum foil. Everyone liked them, but I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I really don't want to give this recipe one star, as the idea of blue cheese, bacon and dates just sounds absolutely scrumptious -- I am, however, forced to give it one star, as I have tried this recipe twice now, and both times the blue cheese falls out of the dates during cooking! I have tried ensuring that the date is completely closed and rolled tight with bacon and a toothpick, but the blue cheese still seeps out during cooking and burns up on the bottom of the pan. :( So sad because I would love to have this recipe work for me -- any advice as to how to improve the methodology of date wrapping would be very much appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
made this last year they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele Sorrentino-George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This recipe is awesome. I used goat cheese and the second batch and it was just as wonderful. I didn't need to bake mine for quite as long as the recipe says, so I would suggest keeping an eye on them. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Absolutely delicious, new favorite appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I make these for any occasion, and they are always a hit. However, I would suggest pre-cooking the bacon at 400F for about 8-10 minutes, just to partially cook it so its pliable. I'm not a huge fan of grease so I pat dry the bacon, then wrap around the dates stuffed with blue cheese (pick a soft mild blue cheese, St. Agur is always a good choice), then bake for another 10-12 minutes at 400F. This prevents burning of the dates and cheese, but ensures the bacon is cooked. Make a lot, people will congregate and eat many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
These turned out great! Even the people who were hesitant because of the the blue cheese LOVED them. By mistake I only used half a date, but I was able to make more and the size was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States