Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These are good, but substitute the blue cheese pecans. They add a creaminess that cheese somehow never gets. YUM!!! Just stuff 2 or 3 in there and you're golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I've also tried these with an almond in the date...always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Blue cheese was overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made two different types of stuffed dates blue cheeses ones and goats cheese with sliced almonds they were both a huge hit at my party. The preparation can be a bit time consuming if you are doing a lot of theses nut still worth it. Very easy instructions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I prefer to make this recipe with some variety of hard cheese, such as Asiago or aged Gouda, because then the cheese won't melt out of the dates. I also like to roll the bacon out more thinly with a rolling pin so they cook faster (12-15 mins), or if I really feel like splurging I get Italian bacon at the deli. Nevertheless, I think it will probably be very good with blue cheese as well, and I'll definitely give that a try one of these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is the perfect blend of salty sweet flavor and it is very easy. It just takes a bit of time to construct them. I actually replaced the bleu cheese with Gorgonzola cheese since my husband doesn't like the strong flavor of bleu cheese. It worked out great! I did try it with Parmesan flakes once, but didn't turn out well. It seems better with the softer cheeses. When you make them, expect them to disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Amazing! I put brown sugar on bacon after wrapping and let them sit overnight in the fridge before baking- divine. Put one half marcona almond in each date (along with the blue cheese). Bacon held them together fine- no toothpicks needed. Cooked 20/10. Also served the chevre figs (which were much quicker to make- these took 1 hour total to make & bake- the figs took 6 minutes total)- both were equally adored. You can make both for the same event and daze & amaze people- TWICE! If you get the fancy nitrate free etc... bacon, it will only make about 20-24 appetizers. So you will have lots of leftover dates. I used my extra dates to test this recipe out with turkey bacon (note: nowhere near as good as with regular bacon, but still tasty) and the turkey bacon made a lot more appetizers. But I still have leftover dates. So maybe adjust recipe to say 1/2 pound dates. Final note: definitely use a 2 tier system to bake (I used cooling racks over a baking sheet), and definitely put aluminum foil on the bottom tray, as otherwise it will take forever to clean the bottom pan. And be prepared for a giant huff of smoke when you open the oven at the end. It's pretty wild. Have windows open and/or fans on. :-) Amazing recipe! Really sensational! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Great recipe! I love them. My wife enjoys them stuffed with Chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
These were great! Everyone loved them. We also tried them with almonds instead of blue cheese and blue cheese with almonds and everyone liked the plain almond ones the best. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
As always, I was running late to a family party and had to bring an appetizer. So I made this recipe but, because I had no time to grill, I used prosciutto instead of bacon and didn't cook the dates at all (prosciutto is already cooked). Nevertheless, they were the first thing gone at the party. I can't wait to try it with the bacon. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States