Bacon Wrapped Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
THIS IS A STANDARD RECIPE IN MY HOUSE THAT IS WONDERFUL!! But here is how I make it: I wrap provolone cheese in the chicken in place of the cream cheese, I sprinkle onion powder on top of the cheese in place of the chives I use cream of mushroom rather than cream of chicken (I just like the mushroom better) I use 1/2 cup sour cream instead of mayo (don't like mayo AT ALL) I bake the chicken breasts with a few raw slices of bacon, but like some of the other comments, I pre-cook the bacon really crumbly and then I sprinkle it over the top of the chicken I add a little more milk to the sauce to make more sauce Definitely serve with egg noodles. MAKE THIS!! MAKE THIS!! It's so very good. These are just some things I have done that make this recipe most versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
618 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Given the reviews by those who thought this dish was bland, I made a few adjustments and the result, in my opinion, was just spectacular. Along with the fresh chives, I also added fresh basil, parsley, and minced garlic to the cream cheese. Before rolling up the chicken, which I sprinkled with salt and pepper, I layered a few fresh baby spinach leaves on top of the now herbed cream cheese. As others did, I partially cooked the bacon. As for the sauce, I eliminated the lemon juice, substituted white wine for 1/4 cup of the milk, and added some sauteed fresh mushrooms. The chicken was fabulous-tender with a burst of flavor and color from the herbed cream cheese and fresh spinach. The sauce was rich and creamy, the wine giving a depth of flavor to what might have been a bland sauce otherwise. Before serving I sprinkled it with some chopped, fresh parsley to give it a little color and served it with mushroom risotto. Absolutely delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
FABulous!!! I prepared this for my husband for Valentine's Day and served it with a baked potato. I had no chives, so I substituted finely chopped onion, and we don't eat mayo, so whipped up a quick and easy home-made mayo recipe (not bad). I used two bacon strips per serving and pre-cooked the bacon-wrapped chicken for about 20 minutes, then added the sauce. This is my new favorite dish. My husband is difficult to impress food-wise, and rarely makes unsolicited comments. If he doesn't like it, he doesn't eat it; it's edible if he clears his plate; he really likes it if he goes for seconds. He actually said it was very good, quizzed me about how it was made, and went for seconds. I made it again for our anniversary, and had to defend my own plate! Culinary success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This recipe was amazing. It has a wonderful table presentation and really doesn't take that much to prepare. I did change a few things, just because I was in an inventive mood. I did use sour cream instead of the mayo. I also browned the chicken for a bit so that it would not have too cook as long. Added some garlic to the sauce (love the stuff). I omitted the chives...forgot about them actually. The biggest change was that I used pancetta instead of regular bacon. I love the taste and it made this already rich dish seem like gourmet food that would cost a pretty penny in a resaurant. Amazing Anna...thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I was told: This is a keeper!! Please follow the advice of other reviewers and pre-cook your bacon until brown and flexible. Otherwise, you will be left with RAW BACON Wrapped Chicken. I served it over egg noodles also. Very rich, very filling, very tasty! You have got to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
Very good. My daughter made it for the family. The only thing I would have done differently was to pre-cook the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was so easy to make and really didn't take long! I substituded the chives with minced onion and I precooked the bacon just a little bit and since I used 6 chicken breasts I used a can of cream of chicken and cream of celery. I made eggnoodles and placed the chicken on top, drizzled it with the sauce and had greenbeans on the side! It was so delicous and my husband and boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
The wife came home from work, and I had these made. She loved them, so did the kids. Very filling, and the sauce goes great on mashed potatos, too. Takes a bit of prep time, but the results are worth it. I used minced onion instead of the chives. I made 2 batches one with the cream cheese and one with mozzerella. They both dissapeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
My husband and I did not care for this. He did not like the chicken and I did not like the sauce. I do agree that cooking the bacon before bacon is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is a really good and quick meal that even kids will love! I have been making it for a while, but I use a tub of cream cheese with onion & chive. That is what was called for in the original recipe I used. Try it! The chive goes great with bacon and it's really mild but adds a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States