Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I don't know if it was the bacon, or "Johnny's Grub Rub," also from this site, or both, but this was just spectacular. We partially cooked the bacon in the microwave to make sure it was cooked through without overcooking the shrimp. We also found that since the shrimp we used were the 21-25 count that they needed to be in the oven just nine minutes, so watch the cooking time carefully. I served this with Green Rice III and it was a match made in heaven. Words are inadequate to describe how delicious and beautiful this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These were as good as any I have ever gotten in a restaurant! I did make a couple of alterations however. I did not use BBQ seasoning but instead marinated the shrimp for a few hours in a little hickory brown sugar BBQ sauce, just enough to coat the shrimp (figured it wouldn't be any messier than the seasoning when wrapping w/ bacon). I cut the bacon into thirds & also added tiny little slivers of jalapenos. I then sprinkled them w/ steak seasoning & allowed them to rest as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I used large fresh shrimp. Wrapped each one in one peice of bacon as it called, but for some of the very large ones I used a strip and a half to cover the whole shrimp. In addition to the barbeque seasoning, I sprinkled each with cayenne pepper to give them a kick of spicyness and also dotted each side with a bit of BBQ sauce. Very quick and easy to make yet very flavorful. Glad I found this because it makes an awesome appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
I thought this was pretty good, but I think next time I'd turn the shrimp over once while cooking. One side of the bacon didn't seem to get as cooked as the other. That's the only change I'd make, though. Otherwise the taste was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
These are excellent!! I recommend marinating the bacon in barbeque sauce overnight before making. The shrimp was tender and the bacon nice and crisp. I will definitely make these again many many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This was really good and really simple to make. Before adding the bacon, I cooked it some and also added a bit of season salt and pepper - then followed the recipe as it is listed. Yum Yum...Have fun cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
Wow, this is easy and really good. I used "Jim Beam Marinade" instead of a BBQ sauce. If you can find this sauce, it is really worth the price. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I made this tonight for my brother & sister inlaw, on a raining even when we couldn't get out with the baby. It was great! I did change something a bit with the bacon. Instead of the ragular bacon, I used a maple bacon it added a sweet succulent flavor to the BBQ Seasoned shrimp (Seasoning by Chef Paul). It was a bit time consuming, because I had to cook the bacon a bit first. I do recommend it for others to try everywhere. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2000
Really great recipe! Made it for Orthodox Easter & got tons of compliments on it. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Everyone I made this for have nothing but great things to say.It is a quick and easy appetizer to make for any occasion. Jennifer, NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States