Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were fabulous. Even though I used jumbo wild shrimp the bacon didn't cook enough for me. Next time I'll pre-cook the bacon a little bit first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Good with an addition of garlic salt too. Very good will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
My husband and his friends ended up at our house after a golf outing and these were inhaled. I got to try one before they were gone and personally thought they were too salty--probably due to the combination of BBQ seasoning AND bacon which is already salty. I think I'll try a BBQ sauce marinade for the bacon (as suggested by others) for future tries. A sweet BBQ sauce mixed with the salty bacon is probably really good! I did flip these 1/2 way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JStoddard
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
They were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Great recipe! But use your own fave BBq sauce cause I like mine sweet and tangy so I made up my own by mixing two different kinds of BBq sauce and lemon juice and maple syrup. IMPORTANT TIP: Dump the shrimp in the sauce before wrapping in bacon. It keeps the BBq taste of the shrimp separate from the bacon so when it’s done tastes like heaven when bitten together because both are on equal ground instead of the feeling like you missed something. Its heaven and I swear on this. DO SO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Awesome recipe. I used a BBQ rub that was a little too salty so next time I will use a sweet BBQ sauce instead of the rub. Even though they were salty they were still delicious. I took others advice and put them under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp up the bacon. I also turned them over during this process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Fantastic and really, really easy. I grilled mine in a grill basket instead of baking. The grill gave them a great grilled, smoky flavor that brought out the flavor of the shrimp. Make sure to turn them so they don't become charred on one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I used large fresh shrimp. Wrapped each one in one peice of bacon as it called, but for some of the very large ones I used a strip and a half to cover the whole shrimp. In addition to the barbeque seasoning, I sprinkled each with cayenne pepper to give them a kick of spicyness and also dotted each side with a bit of BBQ sauce. Very quick and easy to make yet very flavorful. Glad I found this because it makes an awesome appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These were very good, and a BIG hit at a recent party - but next time I think that I will cook the bacon a bit first... it was a tad too underdone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I was expecting much more. Although, I must admitt I brushed each baconed shrimp with BBQ sauce, not seasoning. I guess that really made a difference. Okay, still very good, but it didn't blow me away. If I try them again I guess I'll have to find some BBQ seasoning so I can be blown away like everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States