Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I've prepared a similar appetizer that involved making a small cut down the back of a large or jumbo peeled shrimp and inserting a slice of mild jalapeno pepper before wrapping with bacon. I've found that by winding 1/3 of a bacon slice, starting at one end and finishing at the other end to achieve a single thickness, the bacon has a better chance of cooking adequately and evenly. To cook, I heat the oven temp on the broil setting, add the wrapped shrimp, cook for 2 minutes, turn the shrimp over and broil for another 2 minutes, then turn the oven off and allow the shrimp to finish cooking as the temp gradually decreases. By the time the shrimp begins to turn pink, the bacon will be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These are fantastic~ I wish I would have made more. A guest at our superbowl party ate two and he is allergic to shrimp, but he said they are soooo good. I used pre-cooked bacon and it was perfect when I baked it for 10 minutes. Will be making these again for other get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I love shrimp, and I loved this recipie! I added McCormick's Montreal Steak seasoning and the shrimp tasted great, everybody liked them. I bought giant shrimps and its better than the restaurant because I can eat as much shrimp as I want for less money. Thanks Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Just some tips for anyone who hasn't made this yet...don't use thick cut bacon! LOL! I cooked the bacon in the microwave for 2 minutes before wrapping the shrimp and it just never got crisp. Next time I'm going to try again with thin cut bacon :) This is a RICH food and even though it didn't come out the way I expected, it was still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I don't know if it was the bacon, or "Johnny's Grub Rub," also from this site, or both, but this was just spectacular. We partially cooked the bacon in the microwave to make sure it was cooked through without overcooking the shrimp. We also found that since the shrimp we used were the 21-25 count that they needed to be in the oven just nine minutes, so watch the cooking time carefully. I served this with Green Rice III and it was a match made in heaven. Words are inadequate to describe how delicious and beautiful this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I have a similar recipe where I dip the wrapped shrimp in a chipotle BBQ sauce and place them on the grill...simply awesome! And for added zip, I added a strip of jalepeno pepper along the back of the shrimp before wrapping it. This last touch had everyone raving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This dish is fabulous! I served with dirty rice and cornbread and my husband could not stop raving! I used the precooked bacon you can buy in a box at the grocery store and everything turned out just right. Thanks Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Next time, I will slightly pre-cook the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I substituted BBQ sauce instead of the BBQ seasoning; everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Great idea with the rack. I julienne jalepenos and put them into the spot where you devein the shrimp. Try jack cheese and jalepeno too. I know people say not to mix seafood and cheese, but it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States