Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I served these as an appetizer and they were quite good! I used high quality apple smoked bacon precooked a bit in the microwave. A baking sheet lined with foil was all I needed since precooking the bacon made a rack unnecessary since there was little grease. About eight minutes was all my 21-25 count shrimp needed in the oven. Seasoning and wrapping the shrimp the night before I served them worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were liked by my husband and daughter. I precooked the bacon so it would be done without overcooking the shrimp. Served sweet Thai chili sauce on the side for dipping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was excellent! I had a request for shrimp tonight and this turned out to be a pleasant surprise! A big Mahalo to Naples34102 for mentioning the barbeque seasoning which she used for this shrimp recipe. I used a 26/30 count shrimp, that I cleaned, deveined and cut down the middle of the back. I partially cooked the bacon, then cut each slice into 1/3's using toothpick's to secure the bacon to the shrimp. I sprinkled just a little of, "Johnny's Grub Rub," from this website, onto the bacon and set it aside a while. I placed the shrimp onto a baking sheet that I sprayed with Pam. After the first 2 minutes, I turned the shrimp over to the other side to bake, then waited another 2-3 minutes until I saw the shrimp had turned the pink/orange color indicating it was cooked. I took them out from the oven since I did not want the shrimp to turn tough and rubbery. This was so delicious and flavorful. The shrimp is seasoned just right and the shrimp is cooked perfectly. What more could I ask from this dish?! Not difficult to prepare with nice results. It was a real hit with everyone and it was the very first thing that disappeared on everyone's plate! This was a real nice change from the normal shrimp dishes that we eat in this house. I served this dish with "Green Rice III," and "Carrots in Dill Butter," all from this website. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I don't know if it was the bacon, or "Johnny's Grub Rub," also from this site, or both, but this was just spectacular. We partially cooked the bacon in the microwave to make sure it was cooked through without overcooking the shrimp. We also found that since the shrimp we used were the 21-25 count that they needed to be in the oven just nine minutes, so watch the cooking time carefully. I served this with Green Rice III and it was a match made in heaven. Words are inadequate to describe how delicious and beautiful this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was great. I put the shrimp on skews and cooked it on the grill. I also used Jack Daniels barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIEQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Excellent when the bacon is crispy and cooked all the way. I always have a hard time with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
these were so good I will make them again and again. even good cold the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBIE ALVAREZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Fantastique! I bought two pounds of shrimp, and I cut my [one pounds' worth of] bacon slices into thirds instead of halves. Had a little shrimp leftover (made a quick scampi out of them & threw in the fridge for later). I did not use toothpicks, the bacon ends overlapped perfectly so I put that side down on the rack. Used my broiling pan, worked perfectly. I was looking for a slam-dunk appetizer, this was definitely a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
So simple but SO good. I precook the bacon slightly, used 1/3 piece of bacon per shrimp and lots of bbq sauce. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I loved them. I did them a little different though. I season the shrimp with a little bit of emeril's seasoning, wrap them with bacon and brush smoked barbeque sauce on both sides and baked them. They go fast at parties. Make a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States