Bacon-Wrapped Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very good. The 2nd time I changed it up. Since we didn't have the grill going I roasted them in the oven. My uncovered bacon was crispier in the oven. I also sprinkled with the olive oil, also sprinkled a little Lawry's garlic salt, and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
2 of my favorite things. Double yay :) Used about 3 asparagus per half bacon slice. Bacon kind of unraveled when I ate it. Next time, I think I'll just chop up some bacon and saute them together. It tasted good, but just not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadeeLuck84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Yum! I used a thin strip of bacon & wrapped it spirally around the asparagus spear securing at both ends with half a broken toothpick. I baked them in the oven on a cookie cooling rack over a foil lined cookie sheet. This helped crisp the bacon by letting the grease fall away from the spear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Great way to do asparagus. I bake these in the oven at 425 for about 20 minutes, but now that "grilling season" is here, I am looking forward to having them grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
While I wrapped each little spear with half a slice of bacon and then closed with the toothpicks, I thought it was a wee bit fiddly. My favourite griller thought it was a wee bit fiddly because he had to pick up and turn each little spear instead of rolling them around because of the toothpicks. "Let's see what they taste like first, and then we'll decide if they're worth it", we said. One bite was all it took, and it was unanimous - they're definitely worth it!! I brushed them with olive oil before wrapping with bacon, and sprinkled with fresh ground black pepper. That's all you need! Great yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I make this according to directions but drizzled with sesame oil. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I don't think it's fair for ppl to rate a recipe if they are going to "deviate" and not follow it. You might as well post your own recipe then and allow those who have actually tried the recipe rate it. With getting that off my chest, this recipe was yum-0! Great for entertaining bc it's so easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I love bacon and I love asparagus, but I didn't love this. It was just okay. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Between the bacon and the open grate, this asparagus had a wonderful smokiness that could not have been achieved independent of the other. Cooking the asparagus along with the meat I grilled played a hand in this as well. I was a die-hard fan of grillling asparagus on aluminum foil for many, many years, but after doing it this way, no more. I'd make this again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Awesome.... I brushed my asparagus with olive oil.. wrapped 1 slice of bacon around 3 asparagus (from the top of the asparagus to the bottom).. placed on a wire rack so the grease could drip onto the cookie sheet.... and baked at 400 for 30 min turning after 15 min.... very good.. this was my side for my chicken cordon blue......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States