Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I am a legend in my kitchen because of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made these for a get together and they were gone in 5 minutes! God, I think I could have eaten them all myself in 5 minutes they were so good. I will DEFINITELY use this recipe over and over, since it was such a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was a huge hit at my New Year's Eve party! I rolled them all ahead of time and put them on a tray in the frigde. I also make the sauce ahead of time. So come party time, I just poured on the sauce and put them in the oven. Everyone LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious! Took these to a Christmas party and everyone loved (including me!). I did use 1/4 cup brown sugar and not a 1/2. I also cooked the bacon 1/2 way in a skillet before putting in the oven... nice and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were great, but the sauce was a bit too sweet for me. When I make this recipe again I will do 1/4cup of brown sugar instead of 1/2cup. Also I brushed the sauce over the bacon-covered water chestnuts instead of pouring, so they wouldn't be completely soaking in sauce. Yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
everyone said they liked them, but I guess I thought they were kinda boring for all the work. I won't make them again for that reason unless requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Ooooh myyyy! These are addicting. What great flavor. Very simple to make. I pre-wrapped the water chestnuts earlier in the day, just to save time and that worked out great. I also used whole chestnuts and depending on the size of them, I was able to use a third of a piece of bacon for each. To keep them together, as well as make it easy for guests to pick up, I put toothpicks in each prior to baking. Make sure that you soak the toothpicks before so they don't burn. I used a baking rack to keep them from sitting in grease. They went quickly and had rave reviews. They're wonderful and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDERS70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were the hit of our holiday party! I made lots of other appetizers - but these definitely went the quickest! I followed some other tips like cooking them on a cookie sheet on a pan to let the grease fall. We had to cook them longer than it says to to get the bacon crispier. I might try pre-cooked bacon next time. I tripled the recipe along with the sauce - but there was no need to - there was way to much sauce leftover. However, I put it in mini-crock and let it simmer nearby for people to dip the chestnuts in. Overall - simple and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I didn't find them that amazing. Especially not with the work these things took...holy cow! My brother-in-law said mine were the best he has had, because of the hot sauce I used. I would suggest a tomato based over a vinegar base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Everyone loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States