Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe. Absolutely perfect for parties! We changed up the recipe just a bit by adding chopped water chestnuts to the sauce. This added to the crunchiness. SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel&Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My family has deemed it mandatory that we make these every Christmas Eve (family potluck). Keep them warm by wrapping in foil and setting it in slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
These were wonderful. They don't really look the greatest, but once someone tried one, the platter was empty. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This recipe is one of the most requested ones I make. I use a bottle of Tiger sauce instead of the chili sauce because it gives it a little kick. I also used turkey bacon the last time I made these and they were just as tasty. This is a super easy appetizer that looks like you put so much more effort into making them than you really did. Not to mention they tast AWESOME. I have to triple the quantity every time I make them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
WOW! These are amazing! Prep was super easy, just cut the bacon in half, wrap and bake. Made the sauce as it is written with a dash of some asian hot sauce for a kick, perfection. I did bake for 30, turn and then broil for 10 to make the bacon crispy. No need to do toothpicks until serving, just put them on the side and people can spear their own, the bacon seals it all together. I used whole water chestnuts, glorious crunch! Next time, I might marinate the chestnuts in some soy sauce & sugar for a couple hours before hand to add another dimension, but it doesn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I am a legend in my kitchen because of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made these for a get together and they were gone in 5 minutes! God, I think I could have eaten them all myself in 5 minutes they were so good. I will DEFINITELY use this recipe over and over, since it was such a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was a huge hit at my New Year's Eve party! I rolled them all ahead of time and put them on a tray in the frigde. I also make the sauce ahead of time. So come party time, I just poured on the sauce and put them in the oven. Everyone LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious! Took these to a Christmas party and everyone loved (including me!). I did use 1/4 cup brown sugar and not a 1/2. I also cooked the bacon 1/2 way in a skillet before putting in the oven... nice and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were great, but the sauce was a bit too sweet for me. When I make this recipe again I will do 1/4cup of brown sugar instead of 1/2cup. Also I brushed the sauce over the bacon-covered water chestnuts instead of pouring, so they wouldn't be completely soaking in sauce. Yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States