Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
These have been a consistent HIT every time I serve them, everyone loves them, i substitute asian sweet chili sauce for tomato-based, and it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I have only made this once so far and I was asked by 3 people for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
These are always a crown pleaser when we take them to potlucks or dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Delicious!!! Always a hit at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I have been making these for about 25 years now and I've always used BBQ sauce instead of the other suace provided here. I wrap them ahead of time in the bacon and put in frig because I usually make about 100 of these at a time! I never have leftovers either! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe. Absolutely perfect for parties! We changed up the recipe just a bit by adding chopped water chestnuts to the sauce. This added to the crunchiness. SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel&Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My family has deemed it mandatory that we make these every Christmas Eve (family potluck). Keep them warm by wrapping in foil and setting it in slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
These were wonderful. They don't really look the greatest, but once someone tried one, the platter was empty. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This recipe is one of the most requested ones I make. I use a bottle of Tiger sauce instead of the chili sauce because it gives it a little kick. I also used turkey bacon the last time I made these and they were just as tasty. This is a super easy appetizer that looks like you put so much more effort into making them than you really did. Not to mention they tast AWESOME. I have to triple the quantity every time I make them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
WOW! These are amazing! Prep was super easy, just cut the bacon in half, wrap and bake. Made the sauce as it is written with a dash of some asian hot sauce for a kick, perfection. I did bake for 30, turn and then broil for 10 to make the bacon crispy. No need to do toothpicks until serving, just put them on the side and people can spear their own, the bacon seals it all together. I used whole water chestnuts, glorious crunch! Next time, I might marinate the chestnuts in some soy sauce & sugar for a couple hours before hand to add another dimension, but it doesn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States