Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
After assembling the rolls I gave each one a good sprinkling of fresh ground black pepper. I also added black pepper & garlic powder to the sauce. I cooked the rolls for 30 minutes earlier in the day drained the fat then put a dollop of sauce on each one and refrigerated them until 1/2 an hour before the party - at which point I cooked them for the remaining 30 minutes. These were a HUGE HIT. They dissapeared within 20 minutes of the party starting. I doubled the recipe this time around, next time I will quadruple it. I also put a dish of extra sauce on the side for dipping - something I definitely recommend because that sauce is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
These are amazing and disappear quickly no matter where I bring them. I use turkey bacon to cut down on the grease and fat. I put toothpicks into each one before placing on the serving platter. So easy and so delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Of course this gets five stars, my family said they will be looking forward to these being on the menu again soon. They never said that about anyting I've made. I didn't change anything. Making more of them at time will be a must. I ran out before they were done eating them. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Loves these! I've made them many, many times for parties and they always disappear very quickly. I use a whole water chestnut to a 1/3 of a strip of bacon. I bake for 25 minutes, flip, bake for 20 minutes, add sauce, and bake for 30 more minutes. This gets the bacon nice and crispy and the sauce has a great carmelization. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
legit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
HOLY MOLY! These are fantastic! I can't keep my fiance's hands off these! I doubled the recipe because they fly off the plate! Didn't change a thing to the recipe! Wow. Have already made it 4 times this holiday season. And the smell of bacon..who doesn't LOVE that???!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SL Gemmill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Yummy and so easy to make. I used a whole chesnut per half piece of bacon (rather than half a chesnut). I used a spicy chili sauce, which I thought was fabulous (my sister thought they were too spicy, but I thought they were perfect). The bacon was nice and crispy. You can even make these ahead of time and serve later (turned out great even after storing in the fridge). Great sauce that can be used on many different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dilnavaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
tried this recipe ,thought it was great.i did pre cook bacon in microwave before wrapping.loved the sauce you bake them in .will make again .recipe a keeper.thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Great idea! I was serving cocktail meatballs with a similar sauce so for this I used honey mustard dressing instead and it was delicious. I think I also had to bake an extra 15 minutes to get the bacon brown enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These were a huge hit at Thanksgiving. I've been asked to make them again for Christmas. I doubled the recipe and used equal parts for the sauce (1/3 Cup each) I started cutting the bacon into thirds when I realized I was going to run out of bacon way before I ran out of Water chestnuts. The ones that I used a half slice of bacon on tasted better though. They went so fast that I have to double the recipe. Next time I will buy two pounds of bacon to be on the safe side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States