Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
You will definitely need to double or triple this recipe! No matter how many you make, they will be gone in an instant. I have yet to meet a person that does not adore these little delightful bites. I cut my 1 lb. bacon into thirds, and it works perfectly well for 3 cans of water chestnuts (not halved). My mother suggested also wrapping pineapple chunks or dates this way, but not sure if that might be too sweet. Delicious anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
GREAT sauce!! I found that using the sliced water chestnuts also worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These were really good - especially the sauce! I was dipping bread into the sauce after the appetizers were gone. I'm making the sauce again tonight bacon wrapped chicken breasts. I must have had thicker bacon because my 1/2 pound of bacon didn't wrap all my water chestnuts, but that's ok. It also took longer than 30 minutes to crisp the bacon, but that's ok too - I just kept an eye on them. It probably took about 45-55 minutes for mine to crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is a HUGE crowd pleaser. I roll each halved water chestnut with half a strip of bacon, and then bake for 30 minutes. Meanwhile I mix the "topping" ingredients and heat over the stove on low heat - stir continuously. I then top the baked rolls with the warm topping and bake for an additional 5 minutes. Cuts down on cook time and is absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Usually double or triple this recipe as they go so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
After assembling the rolls I gave each one a good sprinkling of fresh ground black pepper. I also added black pepper & garlic powder to the sauce. I cooked the rolls for 30 minutes earlier in the day drained the fat then put a dollop of sauce on each one and refrigerated them until 1/2 an hour before the party - at which point I cooked them for the remaining 30 minutes. These were a HUGE HIT. They dissapeared within 20 minutes of the party starting. I doubled the recipe this time around, next time I will quadruple it. I also put a dish of extra sauce on the side for dipping - something I definitely recommend because that sauce is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
These are amazing and disappear quickly no matter where I bring them. I use turkey bacon to cut down on the grease and fat. I put toothpicks into each one before placing on the serving platter. So easy and so delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Of course this gets five stars, my family said they will be looking forward to these being on the menu again soon. They never said that about anyting I've made. I didn't change anything. Making more of them at time will be a must. I ran out before they were done eating them. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Loves these! I've made them many, many times for parties and they always disappear very quickly. I use a whole water chestnut to a 1/3 of a strip of bacon. I bake for 25 minutes, flip, bake for 20 minutes, add sauce, and bake for 30 more minutes. This gets the bacon nice and crispy and the sauce has a great carmelization. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
legit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States