Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I have made this recipe many many times but have dipped it in a regular yellow mustard and brown sugar mix and it's super delicious!! Give it a try I know you'll love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
These are wonderful. The only thing I changed was using just 1/4 cup of brown sugar--little less sweet. For years I have made little smokies wrapped in bacon, sprinkled with brown sugar and baked. I think those would be good in this sauce too. Think I'll try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I use precooked bacon. It is a HIT every time I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
We made this at Meadowbrook Hall in Rochester, MI for various functions and dinners years ago when I worked there in the kitchen. I had a hard time NOT eating them myself! Great to see this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Seriously the best! You must prefry the bacon a little before you roll and bake. Definitely impressed the in-laws :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aidensmama
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
You will definitely need to double or triple this recipe! No matter how many you make, they will be gone in an instant. I have yet to meet a person that does not adore these little delightful bites. I cut my 1 lb. bacon into thirds, and it works perfectly well for 3 cans of water chestnuts (not halved). My mother suggested also wrapping pineapple chunks or dates this way, but not sure if that might be too sweet. Delicious anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
GREAT sauce!! I found that using the sliced water chestnuts also worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These were really good - especially the sauce! I was dipping bread into the sauce after the appetizers were gone. I'm making the sauce again tonight bacon wrapped chicken breasts. I must have had thicker bacon because my 1/2 pound of bacon didn't wrap all my water chestnuts, but that's ok. It also took longer than 30 minutes to crisp the bacon, but that's ok too - I just kept an eye on them. It probably took about 45-55 minutes for mine to crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is a HUGE crowd pleaser. I roll each halved water chestnut with half a strip of bacon, and then bake for 30 minutes. Meanwhile I mix the "topping" ingredients and heat over the stove on low heat - stir continuously. I then top the baked rolls with the warm topping and bake for an additional 5 minutes. Cuts down on cook time and is absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Usually double or triple this recipe as they go so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States