Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
YUM YUM YUM! We are Green Bay Packer fans and I make this for every game (per my family and friend's insistence). I make the recipe exactly as written. One thing I've found is using Center Cut bacon helps make the bites crispier. I was very skeptical the first time about the mayonnaise (not a big fan) but once cooked there is no mayo flavot - just delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
The hit of the party!! Even the kids loved them. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made these for a dinner party and they got strange looks at first, but once one person tried one and started raving about them, they were gone in about 5 minutes. I was really pleased. These were amazing. I did use a sweet chili sauce instead of hot chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
If we have a party and I don't make these I am questioned the whole night.."where are the bacon chestnuts?" I did change a couple of things...first of all I use a thin sliced hickory bacon. I take the bacon package and cut it into thirds, then use 2 cans of chestnuts (trust me there will NOT be any left over!) By slicing the bacon in thirds and using a thin slice of bacon it wraps easier and cooks better. Check your cooking time as I usually keep mine in the oven for 30-45 minutes. I like my bacon CRISP! I do NOT pour the suace over the bacon chestnuts and cook for an additional 30 minutes. I leave the sauce as a side item (ever watch When Harry met Sally?) for dipping if they choose to. Not need to double the sauce as it makes plenty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made these for a family function and they were a hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
By slicing the water chestnuts in half, you're making them weak and mine split and fell apart. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These went so fast at our housewarming party, everyone wanted to recipe. I baked them for a total of 45 minutes, turned over after the first 20 min. Also, I made the sauce using 1/4 cup of mayo, chili sauce and brown sugar. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
My in-laws love these and frequently request them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
We have made these many many times, and they are always a hit! We now have requests to bring these to just about every dinner or pitch-in type meal we attend. I was skeptical at first about the combination of mayo and chili sauce, but it really does produce a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States