Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Perfect everytime! Great taste! A total knockout! Thank you so much for sharing! Can I give it 6 stars??? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
YUM YUM YUM! We are Green Bay Packer fans and I make this for every game (per my family and friend's insistence). I make the recipe exactly as written. One thing I've found is using Center Cut bacon helps make the bites crispier. I was very skeptical the first time about the mayonnaise (not a big fan) but once cooked there is no mayo flavot - just delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
The hit of the party!! Even the kids loved them. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made these for a dinner party and they got strange looks at first, but once one person tried one and started raving about them, they were gone in about 5 minutes. I was really pleased. These were amazing. I did use a sweet chili sauce instead of hot chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
If we have a party and I don't make these I am questioned the whole night.."where are the bacon chestnuts?" I did change a couple of things...first of all I use a thin sliced hickory bacon. I take the bacon package and cut it into thirds, then use 2 cans of chestnuts (trust me there will NOT be any left over!) By slicing the bacon in thirds and using a thin slice of bacon it wraps easier and cooks better. Check your cooking time as I usually keep mine in the oven for 30-45 minutes. I like my bacon CRISP! I do NOT pour the suace over the bacon chestnuts and cook for an additional 30 minutes. I leave the sauce as a side item (ever watch When Harry met Sally?) for dipping if they choose to. Not need to double the sauce as it makes plenty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made these for a family function and they were a hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
By slicing the water chestnuts in half, you're making them weak and mine split and fell apart. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These went so fast at our housewarming party, everyone wanted to recipe. I baked them for a total of 45 minutes, turned over after the first 20 min. Also, I made the sauce using 1/4 cup of mayo, chili sauce and brown sugar. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
My in-laws love these and frequently request them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
We have made these many many times, and they are always a hit! We now have requests to bring these to just about every dinner or pitch-in type meal we attend. I was skeptical at first about the combination of mayo and chili sauce, but it really does produce a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States