Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I wanted to test these out before making them for my parents' Christmas party this year. All I've got to say is WOW! These are going to go fast. I used 2 cans of whole water chestnuts and a 16 oz. package of bacon was more than enough. I didn't find that it was necessary to pre-cook the bacon. I cut the bacon strips into thirds and did not halve the chestnuts. I found that this created the perfect bacon to chestnut ratio. I baked them for a total of 45 minutes on the high rack in my oven, turning them over and "sauce-ing" them halfway through. They came out perfectly crispy with a nice caramelized glaze. I served any leftover sauce on the side for dipping. I didn't use a tomato-based chili sauce and opted for Sriracha asian chili sauce instead. It tasted pretty wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Photo by chrissyb7328
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These turned out pretty good and they were simple to prepare. I actually wrapped them a few hours earlier and put it in the fridge. I followed a few other tips and used 2 whole cans of the water chestnuts and cut the bacon in half. I cooked them for 30 minutes, flipped them and cooked for another 20, then covered them with sauce and cooked for an additional 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
These are requested at every family function I go to. I quadruple the recipe and never have any leftovers! Just a couple of tips: I usually cut the bacon into thirds and I don't halve the water chestnuts--just use them whole. It makes the ingredients go farther but is still delicious! Also, I cook them on a wire rack on a baking sheet, then transfer them to a 9x13 casserole when I put the sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cass
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I make these for every get together I have and everyone just devours them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These were very tasty, and I didn't have any left at the end of the night. I wrapped a whole water chestnut in a half slice of bacon and placed them seam down in a glass dish and baked for 30 minutes at 350 as instructed. Then I drained the grease and flipped them over and covered them in a sauce composed of 1/2 cup each of reduced fat mayo, brown sugar, Heinz chili sauce, and 1 tbsp Tabasco. I cooked them for another 30 minutes, then stuck a toothpick in each and served. If I had to do it again, I think I'd add more Tabasco for a bit more kick. I'm also tempted to "marinade" the water chestnuts in soy sauce or something first, just to give them a little more flavor (they felt a little superfluous to the overall dish, flavor-wise). Overall, though, this recipe was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I made these today for a family get together and they were amazing!!! I cooked in the oven for about 45 min (till the bacon was done) then put in a crock-pot with the sauce. Worked great! I was worried the bacon would fall off and it didn't :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I've made these several times and they are excellent. I seem to try a different type of bacon each time. A good maple or hickory smoked is what I like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jpav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Excellent as is! Even good when it cools down and sits on an appetizer table for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Pretty good. Very easy. Crispy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Perfect everytime! Great taste! A total knockout! Thank you so much for sharing! Can I give it 6 stars??? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States