Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I was looking for bacon wrapped recipes and this one kept popping up. Let me tell you... Oh mah gosh this is sooooo good! I love the sweet and crunchy of the water chestnut. I found the water chestnuts in the Asian section of the grocery store. I didn't have chili sauce which I don't think is really needed so I used a bit of Sriracha hot chili sauce, gave it a nice kick! I so recommend this recipe, it will knock your guests socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISACAS1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
These were yummy. Baked at 375 for 30 minutes, turned the chestnuts over to bake the underside of the wraps, then spooned sauce on and baked for another 20 minutes. I made only a 1/2 of the sauce, and this was plenty for us. Added a dash of worcestershire sauce and a tsp. of ketchup to cut the chili sauce. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
We had these at a restraunt once and my husband said we just had to find that recipe this tasted the exact same thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Yum. I used Chili Garlic Sauce(in the asian section of the grocery) the 3rd time I made these and it gives it so much more flavor and kick. I also followed the suggestion of others and added the sauce last after first cooking them on a broiler pan to allow crisping of the bacon. Tried using the extra bacon with pineapple chunks and they were great. Great the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Outrageously delicious, don't skip the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Wow! I made these for my Kahlua party and they were a HUGE hit!! we did a few of them with turkey bacon and they were just as good! The crunch of the waterchestnut is perfect and that sauce carmalizes so well! A definite repeat! Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha*Italiano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These made for excellent appetizers. So simple to make, yest such an elegant presentation. My guests kept asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are great! I hate making things with mayo, but went out of my comfort zone and tried it - I'm so glad I did! They were delicious. The only difference was that I accidently bought SLICED water chestnuts, so I put about 4 slices in each roll. It actually turned out pretty good! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I did a similar version. In addition, I also used tarragon-marinated chicken breast and stabbed toothpicks as an appetizer. OMG!! (part of my bro's wedding). Instead, I finished it off with a honey-mustard dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Really good - I'll make these again. 4 stars because it needed a kick. What in the world is the difference between chili sauce and ketchup??? I tasted it before I added it and it literally tasted exactly like ketchup so I added some cayenne pepper to the sauce. YUMMY - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States