Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
The only thing I do differently is to soak the water chestnuts in soy sauce the night before I make them. It adds a little bit of smokey goodness to the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was my first time making these wonderful appetizers. I made it to the T of the recipe. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Battle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Great recipe, followed advise to use bacon cut into thirds, used whole water chestnuts, cocked longer and used garlic flavored chili sauce. Also added soy sauce to the glaze, a huge hit all around. While prep does take time, I prepared and cooked early, just inserted toothpicks and reheated on a Pam coated Cooke sheet at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. The crunch of the water chestnuts really adds to the experience. I partially precook the bacon, cool them and then wrap the chestnuts so they only have to cook for 1/2 hr in the oven, limiting the mess. I put the sauce on right away. They can be prepped ahead of time sauce and all and then thrown in the oven last minute. Warning...these are addicting. They reheat well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I was looking for bacon wrapped recipes and this one kept popping up. Let me tell you... Oh mah gosh this is sooooo good! I love the sweet and crunchy of the water chestnut. I found the water chestnuts in the Asian section of the grocery store. I didn't have chili sauce which I don't think is really needed so I used a bit of Sriracha hot chili sauce, gave it a nice kick! I so recommend this recipe, it will knock your guests socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISACAS1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
These were yummy. Baked at 375 for 30 minutes, turned the chestnuts over to bake the underside of the wraps, then spooned sauce on and baked for another 20 minutes. I made only a 1/2 of the sauce, and this was plenty for us. Added a dash of worcestershire sauce and a tsp. of ketchup to cut the chili sauce. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
We had these at a restraunt once and my husband said we just had to find that recipe this tasted the exact same thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Yum. I used Chili Garlic Sauce(in the asian section of the grocery) the 3rd time I made these and it gives it so much more flavor and kick. I also followed the suggestion of others and added the sauce last after first cooking them on a broiler pan to allow crisping of the bacon. Tried using the extra bacon with pineapple chunks and they were great. Great the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Outrageously delicious, don't skip the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Wow! I made these for my Kahlua party and they were a HUGE hit!! we did a few of them with turkey bacon and they were just as good! The crunch of the waterchestnut is perfect and that sauce carmalizes so well! A definite repeat! Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha*Italiano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States