Bacon Water Chestnut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Ooooh myyyy! These are addicting. What great flavor. Very simple to make. I pre-wrapped the water chestnuts earlier in the day, just to save time and that worked out great. I also used whole chestnuts and depending on the size of them, I was able to use a third of a piece of bacon for each. To keep them together, as well as make it easy for guests to pick up, I put toothpicks in each prior to baking. Make sure that you soak the toothpicks before so they don't burn. I used a baking rack to keep them from sitting in grease. They went quickly and had rave reviews. They're wonderful and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDERS70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were the hit of our holiday party! I made lots of other appetizers - but these definitely went the quickest! I followed some other tips like cooking them on a cookie sheet on a pan to let the grease fall. We had to cook them longer than it says to to get the bacon crispier. I might try pre-cooked bacon next time. I tripled the recipe along with the sauce - but there was no need to - there was way to much sauce leftover. However, I put it in mini-crock and let it simmer nearby for people to dip the chestnuts in. Overall - simple and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I didn't find them that amazing. Especially not with the work these things took...holy cow! My brother-in-law said mine were the best he has had, because of the hot sauce I used. I would suggest a tomato based over a vinegar base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Everyone loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
AMAZING!!! I took these to a large party with lots of food and these were the first to go. I did cook them for about an hour though. I like my bacon crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These were an absolute hit. Although I really think it's hard to go wrong with bacon. I did only use 1/3 a strip of bacon per water chestnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were pretty good, but I have to say that I like the plain bacon and water chestnut rolls (minus the sauce) ones much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I gave this recipe 3 stars because the guys at the party loved this. The girls, myself included, were not fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Fantastic, my go-to dish for events that require snacking. I recommend whole water chestnuts and adding a little sweet chili sauce. Also, I cooked at a little higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I was very skeptical about the sauce for these. Even after I mixed it and put a finger in to taste it, I considered using a different recipe for the sauce. But, eventually I decided to trust previous reviews and it turned out great! A nice mix of sweet and tangy. I didn't like having to drain the bacon grease from the pan, and I think in the future, I will place the rolls on a rack inside the pan that can be lifted out of the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States