Bacon Turnip Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Excellent! I'd never had a turnip and was apprehensive...but this was a great recipe to introduce myself to the healthy turnip. I think next time I'll try it with turkey bacon just to keep it on the healthier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelika
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was eager to open my kitchen up to seasonal produce, including turnips, even though I'd never cooked with them before. This recipe was super easy to complete and we were rewarded with a tasty and [somewhat!] healthy side dish to our dinner! My boyfriend told me I could make this again so I definitely will be; thank you for introducing me to the world of turnips with this wonderful & easy recipe! It gets 4 stars because it seemed a little runny, even after letting it go on the stove for much longer than the stated cook time; maybe my fault.. so I will cook the turnips differently next time and see if I can get them to be a little less watery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
No idea what orange turnips are. Can't find them here. I used regular turnips. Super easy, really freaking good. No, really. I made a recipe and a half of this only I didn't increase the bacon or the bacon fat. I don't think I can go back to regular mashed potatoes again. Even the littlest loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My husband really loved this a lot better than my standard mashed turnips with maple syrup. The only modification I would make would be to actually use a little less bacon. It was more bacon than turnip practically. I used pre-cooked bacon which worked out perfectly. I did pour the grease into the dish. Next time I will omit this, too. It made it too salty. I think with slightly less bacon and no bacon grease this would be 5* (or at least omit the bacon grease if nothing else). Will make it again for Thanksgiving next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Doyle Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was a great hit at our house. Can't really go wrong with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was a delicious side dish, alternative to mashed potatoes. My husband also enjoyed this tasty dish. I used precooked bacon to avoid a mess in my kitchen and omitted the bacon fat. I drained the water out of the cooked turnips before adding the seasoning, I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
A nice change from the normal vegetable choices... not a diet food but i like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Had to use of some turnips from my CSA box (local food box that I get weekly). I wasn't expecting much, but this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Very good and wonderful alternative to potatoes. I used low sodium bacon and removed salt, and it still had wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGural

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States