Bacon Turnip Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I was really excited for this but it turned out to be sub-par. I found using the rendered bacon fat made it far too greasy for my liking. I would do it again without adding the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe. Super simple, not a lot of ingredients but a lot of flavor. I think this would make a great side dish for breakfast instead of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is pretty good, although not the best mashed turnip I've had. I used one bag bacon bits and 1/2 cup whole milk. I also doubled the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Delicious! I used purple-topped turnips and added a few small potatoes because I had them on hand. The only problem I had with the recipe was that it didn't specify how long to boil the turnips, which is kind of critical information. It took mine about 15-20 minutes (they were small, and I didn't chop them up further). I also cut back on the bacon amount, and it still had a great bacon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I'd never eaten a turnip in my life before I tried this. I suspect it'll be in my regular rotation from now on! The bacon gives it an excellent crunch. A great, warming dish in the dead of winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! My family members always complement me on it and my family can't get enough...especially my husband! For every turnip I use I add a medium sized potato to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This dish was wonderful. I have never cooked turnips and wanted to try. This is the recipe I will follow next time too, and there will be a next time. This is easy and tasty and if you like cabbage, you will like turnips...and this recipe. Thank you for helping me to expand my choices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Delicious. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Excellent! I'd never had a turnip and was apprehensive...but this was a great recipe to introduce myself to the healthy turnip. I think next time I'll try it with turkey bacon just to keep it on the healthier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelika
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was eager to open my kitchen up to seasonal produce, including turnips, even though I'd never cooked with them before. This recipe was super easy to complete and we were rewarded with a tasty and [somewhat!] healthy side dish to our dinner! My boyfriend told me I could make this again so I definitely will be; thank you for introducing me to the world of turnips with this wonderful & easy recipe! It gets 4 stars because it seemed a little runny, even after letting it go on the stove for much longer than the stated cook time; maybe my fault.. so I will cook the turnips differently next time and see if I can get them to be a little less watery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States