Bacon Turnip Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Bacon Turnip Mash Haiku: "Better than I thought! But bacon is a rockstar! I'd eat this again!" I used more than a pinch of garlic powder, and regular, non-orange (?) turnips, but otherwise did the recipe as written. I found this to be a nice alternative to mashed potatoes, but the bacon (and the grease, oh my!) probably made it not so healthy, but definitely nummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Delicious! I had never had a turnip before, but this tasted great and was so easy to make. Everyone loved it and even my picky 2-year-old ate some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Every Thanksgiving and/or Christmas dinner! its amazing! didn't make any changes, just enjoyed the delicious bacony goodness :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I was really excited for this but it turned out to be sub-par. I found using the rendered bacon fat made it far too greasy for my liking. I would do it again without adding the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe. Super simple, not a lot of ingredients but a lot of flavor. I think this would make a great side dish for breakfast instead of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is pretty good, although not the best mashed turnip I've had. I used one bag bacon bits and 1/2 cup whole milk. I also doubled the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Delicious! I used purple-topped turnips and added a few small potatoes because I had them on hand. The only problem I had with the recipe was that it didn't specify how long to boil the turnips, which is kind of critical information. It took mine about 15-20 minutes (they were small, and I didn't chop them up further). I also cut back on the bacon amount, and it still had a great bacon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I'd never eaten a turnip in my life before I tried this. I suspect it'll be in my regular rotation from now on! The bacon gives it an excellent crunch. A great, warming dish in the dead of winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! My family members always complement me on it and my family can't get enough...especially my husband! For every turnip I use I add a medium sized potato to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This dish was wonderful. I have never cooked turnips and wanted to try. This is the recipe I will follow next time too, and there will be a next time. This is easy and tasty and if you like cabbage, you will like turnips...and this recipe. Thank you for helping me to expand my choices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States