Bacon Turnip Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Thanksgiving wouldn't be the same without this wonderful dish. My husband LOVES to make this and I certainly let him as he feels he "owns" it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
This is the recipe my Mom used! I'm so glad to find it again. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I'm not a very big fan of turnip, but my husband is so I made this for him. I think I liked it as much as he did! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I don't eat turnips, but my sweetie does. He says this is delicious (even tho I forgot the garlic powder) - will include it next time, and he will like it even better! A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Great side dish, not only for your Thanksgiving feast, but for your fall dinner parties. Turnip lovers and non-turnip lovers alike returned for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
YUM! Will make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
GREAT! I think this is the state veggie in KY, everyone grows them & gives them away, & I'm always looking for a new way to cook them. Thanks a ton!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I actually thought this was good. I think using enough salt, pepper & garlic is the key. After I made it the first time as a side dish with dinner, my husband and I looked at each other and said the same thing -- "Breakfast!" The next weekend I got another batch of turnips from the farmer's market and made this and then served it with a fried egg on top. Delicious "hash"-like breakfast dish, unusual and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wagner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
You've turned a lifelong turnip hater to one that now loves them! I made this for a group of friends, following the recipe to a T and it was an absolute HIT! Thank you! My friend gave me some massive turnips to take home and I made this again: only because my husband and I are health conscious, I omitted the salt, used turkey bacon (Oscar Mayer) and fried it in some extra virgin Olive oil and to that I added a large pinch of black pepper and garlic. It was equally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Tastiest turnips I've ever had! Followed the recipe exactly. I'm going to try boiling the turnips in chicken stock next time just for, the heck of, it and see how that tastes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States