Bacon Turnip Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Tastiest turnips I've ever had! Followed the recipe exactly. I'm going to try boiling the turnips in chicken stock next time just for, the heck of, it and see how that tastes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
You've turned a lifelong turnip hater to one that now loves them! I made this for a group of friends, following the recipe to a T and it was an absolute HIT! Thank you! My friend gave me some massive turnips to take home and I made this again: only because my husband and I are health conscious, I omitted the salt, used turkey bacon (Oscar Mayer) and fried it in some extra virgin Olive oil and to that I added a large pinch of black pepper and garlic. It was equally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I actually thought this was good. I think using enough salt, pepper & garlic is the key. After I made it the first time as a side dish with dinner, my husband and I looked at each other and said the same thing -- "Breakfast!" The next weekend I got another batch of turnips from the farmer's market and made this and then served it with a fried egg on top. Delicious "hash"-like breakfast dish, unusual and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wagner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Bf made this today and said he'd never made turnips like this before. I've never had turnips, ever, but I thought it was pretty good. He thought it was bland--I agree, kind of, but that's easy enough to fix. Worked as an early lunch for us today. He used turkey bacon so didn't really have any bacon grease. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
A very tasty way to make turnip. I cooked it ahead and froze it, leaving out the bacon bits, which I fried up and froze separately. On the day, I warmed the turnip in the microwave and crisped up the bacon bits on the stove, then stirred them together. Everyone, even those who do not usually like turnip, liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
GREAT! I think this is the state veggie in KY, everyone grows them & gives them away, & I'm always looking for a new way to cook them. Thanks a ton!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Didn't take away enough of the sharp flavor from the turnips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Tried this for Thanksgiving, but didn't really care for it. Thought the bacon flavor would remove the bitterness of the turnip and make it more flavorful. Didn't happen in my case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I thought this was too greasy and the flavors really didn't compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
It was too salty, and I just don't think that the rutabaga needs all this extra stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemomster1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Susquehanna, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States