Bacon Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I think this would be excellent as it is but because I have one of the world's pickiest eaters for a son,I made some changes. First, I had to leave out the mushrooms and onions. I used a package of Oscar Meyer bacon bits instead of cooking the bacon and used Dorothy Lynch Homestyle Dressing instead of Catalina. I also added croutons. My son ate 3 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very well received by my dinner guests. I omitted the egg and added mandarin oranges and julienned carrots. Served the catalina as well as poppy seed dressings on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Easy enough for a geo-bachelor to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I made this salad tonite to accompany my leftovers and it was delish. I think the dressing is perfect with the spinach and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I used to make salads for a cafe. If you want to have this salad as an entree I would suggest you make the spinach your base add julliene raw carrots and purple cabbage (sometimes sold prepared in baggie at grocery),then some cherry tomatoes, next topped with grilled chicken breast marinated in poppyseed dressing, then finally topped with the bacon, chopped pecans, blue cheese and place the thinly sliced red onion rings around the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I didn't like this. maybe it was the dressing. I'll try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDRIANI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I used baby spinach and another Kraft dressing similar to Catalina except it also has poppy seeds. I don't care for hard boiled eggs, so I added clementine slices instead(cut in half)because I had them on hand. Mandarin oranges would also work. My family loved this- my daughter tasted it before dinner and asked me to double the quantity. She was right- it disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
Very good, you can buy pre-packaged pre-washed spinach in most any grocery store these days, this makes the prep of this even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIA_ARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Yummy, I have used both a warm bacon dressing and a honey garlic dressing. I am just not a catalina fan. But there is nothing like fresh spinach salad. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I made this for lunch today for Robert (son #1) & I, and we both enjoyed it. Of course I cheated & used, "real" bacon bits, and I also used a french type dressing, "Grandma's French Dressing" (from this site) as I didn't have any catalina at the time. Good salad, Thanks K-R-A-F-T!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States