Bacon Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
It's a decent base recipe but by itself it is, in fact, very dry. The olive oil soaks in quickly. I ended up making a sauce with some butter, a little whole milk, and added about 1/2 cup shredded, sauted raddichio, and 1/2 cup thawed frozen peas. The bacon definately needs to be the last thing you add in, if you want it crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I have not tried this version. The one I have has 3 cans of diced tomatoes added. It was my mom's recipe way back when. Everyone loves it when I serve it. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
We love it, my son actually picked this out for his night to cook, he's 12 -- we made it together, w/ the exceptions we used a cup of organic basil sauce and we used morning star bacon, to make it completely vegetarian (hint on morning star bacon, broil it under the broiler for 8 minutes, or until crispy makes a world of difference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Thank you, Dali! This was wonderful -- A refreshing change. Didn't have garlic, so used about 1 tablespoon of Mrs. Dash. I only made 1/2 a pound of spaghetti (forgot I was halving the recipe and kept the other ingredients the same except I added 4 tablespoons olive oil and 1 tablespoon bacon grease. The calories probably more than doubled, but it was sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very nice. Added 6 tbs of olive oil, and instead of fresh garlic, I used a jar of minced garlic. 1/2 tsp is 1 clove, and I added 1 tbs + 2 tsp. I sauteed the garlic in the olive oil and it turned out really nice. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Some people don't like the raw garlic in this recipe. I have always sauteed it in the bacon grease after the bacon was done. I also like to chop a tomato very finely and throw it in there. To help with it being too dry, I put about 2 tbsp margarine in the noodles while they're still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very very dry. Husband spoke his mind very clearly about it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana B.ee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was pretty good. I might make it again. I also added an extra T of Olive Oil. And at the table, we added a lot of parm and ground black pepper. That made it really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
It was a little boring. I to found it to be dry. I also think it needs some fresh herbs and scallion or red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TLW
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I prepared the recipe as written but found it was a little dry, and so, I added just 2 Tbs melted butter, which was just enough to make it very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States