Bacon Rosemary Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is certainly an acceptable recipe, but nothing extraordinary. Make some mashed potatoes and add some onion, bacon, garlic and rosemary. It's as simple as that. There's nothing wrong with this, and it IS a step up from plain old mashed potatoes (although there's certainly nothing wrong with plain old mashed potatoes!), there's just nothing here that blows your socks off. I added more butter, no milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Potatoes were a bit dry - I would suggest adding a tad more milk. The flavors didn't blend well - I think a heavily carmelized sweet onion would have been better than the red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I think these are TERRIFIC! The flavors blend together so well. I highly recommend this recipe. I used 8 small red potatoes and kept the skin on. I used 1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt in the water to boil the potatoes, and then added 1/2 tsp. kosher salt to the finished potatoes. I added 1/4 tsp. fresh groud black pepper and replaced 1/2 of the butter with light sour cream. I served these with the Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs from this site. These potatoes were my favorite part of the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Very nice change from regular mashed potatoes. I like the recipe as is but also tried a variation where I substituted yogurt for the milk &/or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I absolutely adore these mashed potatoes. To think something so easy could be so wonderful. There was a perfect balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I thought these potatoes were FANTASTIC! My entire family disagreed. I'll admit young boys 9-4 are not the target audience for this dish so take the rating with a grain of salt. They gave it a one and I gave it a five. Used 2 big russets and made as written. If your family loves plan jane mashed potatoes like mine- they may not like this. But I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Will use next milk next time. But yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I wish the recipe was more specific on the kind of potatoes and how big they should be. That aside, I used about 8 red potatoes, with the skins on and added a spoonful of FF sour cream when mashing the potatoes. I did heat the milk to almost boiling to make a fluffier potato. My family was divided. The husband and I liked this but the kids did not. I think it's a nice blend of flavors and quite different than your usual mashed potatoes. This went really well with Reunion Meatballs, which are also from this site, and garlic broccoli. I plan on using the leftovers tomorrow for breakfast by making them into fried potato pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
NICE CHANGE FOR MASHED POTATOES. IT'S A KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was a real nice change from plain old mashed potatoes. I used yukon gold potatoes and fresh rosemary, minced. I used a little buttermilk and a 1/4 cup of butter. The potatoes were creamy and fluffy enhanced by the bacon bits and hint of fresh rosemary. The bacon really adds a lot of flavor to the potatoes as does the garlic. I added a little of the bacon grease to the mashed potatoes. All the flavors balanced well together. I served this with, "Incredible Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf," and "Browned Buttered Vegetables with Almonds", from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States