Bacon Rosemary Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Pretty good, I made this with stuffed pork chops. They went well together. Not extraordinary though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I absolutely adore these mashed potatoes. To think something so easy could be so wonderful. There was a perfect balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I thought these potatoes were FANTASTIC! My entire family disagreed. I'll admit young boys 9-4 are not the target audience for this dish so take the rating with a grain of salt. They gave it a one and I gave it a five. Used 2 big russets and made as written. If your family loves plan jane mashed potatoes like mine- they may not like this. But I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I wish the recipe was more specific on the kind of potatoes and how big they should be. That aside, I used about 8 red potatoes, with the skins on and added a spoonful of FF sour cream when mashing the potatoes. I did heat the milk to almost boiling to make a fluffier potato. My family was divided. The husband and I liked this but the kids did not. I think it's a nice blend of flavors and quite different than your usual mashed potatoes. This went really well with Reunion Meatballs, which are also from this site, and garlic broccoli. I plan on using the leftovers tomorrow for breakfast by making them into fried potato pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I think these are TERRIFIC! The flavors blend together so well. I highly recommend this recipe. I used 8 small red potatoes and kept the skin on. I used 1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt in the water to boil the potatoes, and then added 1/2 tsp. kosher salt to the finished potatoes. I added 1/4 tsp. fresh groud black pepper and replaced 1/2 of the butter with light sour cream. I served these with the Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs from this site. These potatoes were my favorite part of the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is certainly an acceptable recipe, but nothing extraordinary. Make some mashed potatoes and add some onion, bacon, garlic and rosemary. It's as simple as that. There's nothing wrong with this, and it IS a step up from plain old mashed potatoes (although there's certainly nothing wrong with plain old mashed potatoes!), there's just nothing here that blows your socks off. I added more butter, no milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
NICE CHANGE FOR MASHED POTATOES. IT'S A KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Potatoes were a bit dry - I would suggest adding a tad more milk. The flavors didn't blend well - I think a heavily carmelized sweet onion would have been better than the red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Very nice change from regular mashed potatoes. I like the recipe as is but also tried a variation where I substituted yogurt for the milk &/or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States