Bacon Roll-Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made 4 other bacon appetizers for the holiday and this one turned out just okay. I think it would be better with a flavored bread (cheesy, onion ect..) to give it more flavor. Easy to make but not high on my remake list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
this was lunch for me and the hubby today while we watched a movie. i wanted something kinda light since i work a different shift than usual today and i didnt want to be tired. i made 2 batches of 8 of these the first ones to the recipe and they were good but the bacon wasnt quite as crisp as id like. for the 2nd batch i just chopped the bacon and added a handful ( maybe a scant 1/4 c) and mixed it into the pita slices and baked it. i liked it better this way because i could get my bacon really crispy and the onion added something i thought was missing. very good both ways depending on what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I substituted the spreadable (garlic and herb) cream cheese that comes in a tub. Before rolling up I placed a hot pepper ring in some and a little salsa in others. OMG delish! Also, place roll-ups on cookie rack over foil covered baking sheet. (You can easily turn them over and they wont be soggy with grease. Easy cleanup too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
AMAZING. I used chive cream cheese and baked at 425 for 5 minutes on each side. This was super easy and they couldn't have turned out any better! New my fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I have also made these for years and and like one other reviewer use Wonder Bread instead of pita. Also use pineapple cream cheese which is so good. Using a broiler pan (I use the disposable) allows the extra bacon grease to flow away from the roll-up. These are a #1 hit whenever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Too much grease from the bacon. I added fresh chives to the cream cheese mixture, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I really really loved these. I added some jalapenos on a few of them and really enjoyed that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Most amazing meal EVER to exist in the history of cooking and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliveDrive

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I also pre-cooked the bacon. I added freeze-dried chives and onions to the cream cheese and it added some flavor. I baked the pieces in the oven on 425 for about 5 min on each side. (I like my bacon crispy.) Do a test first to see what works best for your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have been making something similar to these for yrs, but I use 1 loaf of Wonder white bread, and 8 oz. cream cheese left at room temp. Cut all of the crust off bread. Spread each slice of bread lighly with cream cheese. Cut slice of bread in half and roll up. Wrap a half of pre-cooked bacon around each half. No need to use toothpicks, just place on baking sheet with seem side down, and bake 5-10 min., or until bread starts to brown. Absolutely delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States