Bacon Roll Ups II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
easy and sooooooooo good - I suggest cutting the crust off the bread as it looks and cooks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My mother-in-law shared this recipe with me. These are absolutely delicious - you wouldn't think that bacon, bread, and cream cheese would be anything to "write home about", and yet they are devoured every time I make them. Party guests request them. They really don't need any doctoring… the bacon and bread crisp up, the cream cheese gets all melty and gooey… salty, crispy, crunchy. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is a favorite treat at all my parties! I use Challah bread instead of plain white. This sweetens things up while the bacon remains savory crisp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have made these for years and they are always the hit of the party. I usually use cream cheese with pineapple which is so so good. Cream cheese with chive/onion is also great - try whatever might be one of your favorites. Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I won our annual culinary throwdown with these!! I used Philadelphia chive and onion cream cheese, but that is the only thing I changed. They disappeared at an amazing rate. Mine stayed put without toothpicks and I transferred them to my cookie cooling rack to "drip" off the excess grease. They were crispy on the outside and gooey/chewy on the inside. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
These are a good start, however I felt they needed somethnig- they were a little bland. I experimented and had success with two additions: On one batch I spread about a teaspoon of Harry and David's pepper relish on each peice of white bread with the cream cheese before rolling them up. It added a nice little bit of sweetness and peppery flavor, which was nice. I brought them to a party and everyone loved them at at multiple peices. Then, I also did another batch, and sprinkled a little cayenne pepper on the outside of the bacon rolls and then rolled them in a little brown sugar. Again, the added ingedients gave the roll-ups a more balance flavor. Thank you for the original recipe. I will make them again, with my suggested additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I usually don't change up a recipe too much but I got some tips on this one beforehand and decided to do them. Same ingredients but with the addition of brown sugar. I cut the crusts off Wonder sandwich bread (about 20 slices), spread softened cream cheese on them, sliced them into thirds, rolled those up. Cut bacon slices in half, dredged them in brown sugar, rolled around the bread rolls, secured with toothpicks. Baked at 400 until just starting to brown. Turned broiler on and crisped them up. OMG-these were gone in a NY minute at a super bowl party. Had to recite the recipe several times. Simple ingredients. AMAZING results!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I thought these were yummy and easy. Read some other reviews that they were bland. Not sure I agree. I did use multigrain bread and cream cheese with chives maybe that's why they're tastier? Either way, easy peasy and delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Love the simplicity of this app! I use pineapple cream cheese (or I mix a can of pineapple w/plain cream cheese). I roll out the bread with a rolling pin, spread the cream cheese, roll & then wrap with bacon. I make these ahead of time, wrap in plastic wrap and freeze them. I defrost these before baking and slice while still partially frozen - it is much easier & cleaner to cut these while firm than once cooked or right after you roll them. These are great to have on hand and each time I have made this app, they are gone within minutes & people always ask what they are and how to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I loved the various textures of these. Crispy bread, creamy cheese, and bacon. I experimented a bit, and tried some with plain cream cheese, some with cheddar and cream cheese, some with garlic, and some sprinkled with brown sugar. Every single one of them was great. I did up the oven temp to 425 to cook the bacon faster without burning the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States