Bacon Roll Ups II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
We're having poker night at our house tonight and I am serving a few appetizers. I prefer to try most of my recipes first before serving them and I was most concerned about this one. Bread, cream cheese and bacon? The combination sounded interesting but I was skeptical. Therefore, I decided to try it with dinner tonight first. There's not a single one left! Even my boyfriend, who shys away from cream cheese unless it is discretly hidden in the dish loved these (not that the cream cheese is very apparent though). Now I have to make another batch for tonight! Great recipe! Thanks for posting this Robyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is superb choice for a hot appetizer. I made these for my husband's birthday party and they were devoured in a flash. I used turkey bacon sprayed lightly with olive flavored Pam (since he doesn't eat regular bacon) and chive-flavored cream cheese with a fews drops of tobasco sauce for a little kick. Look forward to making this again with rye or wheat bread. Make sure you flatten the bread well with a rolling pin for the best results. 5 spoons up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
These are really yummy, if you love bacon, you will love these! I could not find the Pepperidge bread (I am in Canada, maybe they do not have here?) I just used plain white sandwhich bread and instead of making the cream cheese mixture I used Philly Garlic and Herb Cream Cheese, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These are delicious. My friend has made these for years and I have loved them. But after reading the comments here I made a couple of additions. I added about 1/2 cup cooked and drained chopped spinach and 1 tablespoon Tastefully Simple Spinach and Herb Mix. I cut both the bread and bacon into thirds rather than in half. Also, rolling the bread, as suggested by one reviewer, made it easier. Do not precook the bacon as some have said. Adds a step that is not needed- you need the flavor of the bacon and your roll-ups are not at all greasy. Just drain on paper towels. Took to a party and were devoured! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Delicious! I sprinkled on brown sugar and garlic powder before baking. They were a hit! Thanks Robyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I used this appetizer at my Christmas party and it was the first to go! My guests kept asking if I had any more hidden away. My advice: double the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I liked this, but I used flour tortillas instead of the bread. It seemed to be a lot better versus using the bread. Also, I crumbled up the bacon before I made the mixture. I ended up preparing this a day in advance and then let it chill in the refrigerator. This seemed to really, really help out a lot. I made it once before and followed the recipe directly. Then, I tried the changes and it seemed that the roll-ups turned out a lot better. I took these to a get together and a lot of my friends loved them:):)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TMCDONALD1
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These turned out to be pretty dang good. I also added a little dry ranch to the cream cheese. I made them for the super bowl party and they were all gone by half time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I first made these as a appetizer for last year's Thanksgiving dinner. And they went FAST!! Everyone who had one HAD to have to recipe. Now it is definitely used every time I entertain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
These had no flavor. For the time it takes to make them - they are not worth it. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States