Bacon Roll Ups II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I was skeptical, but these were amazing! I am kind of a snob about how my bacon is cooked (I only like it perfectly crispy or it grosses me out) and these turned out just right! I also worried the bread might be soggy, but that wasn't the case. I was having Mediterranean themed appetizers that night and this didn't fit, but I really wanted to make them anyway so I experimented and discovered I like them with roasted red peppers inside with the cream cheese (kind of a stretch, I know). I tried lots of variations earlier in the day and decided that I didn't like them as much if I added any seasoning because it just distracted from the main flavors. All the variations were still quite good, but none of them beat the plain simple ones--so why make it more complicated? I will make these without any additions from now on! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My mother and I loved this recipie as is, but my husband likes it when i flavor the cream cheese. All in all I say it is a very good recipe and very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missmiavega
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe was great! I love a recipe that calls for such a short ingredient list. I used Natures Pride Nutty Oat bread. I cut the bread up and spread them with cream cheese, I sprinkled them with Garlic Garlic from Tastefully Simple. I rolled them up wrapped them in bacon and sprinkled brown sugar on top. Delightful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyking
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe was simple to make. Rolling up the bread and bacon got messy but not unbearable. I recommend buying good quality bacon. I went through 1.5 packages because some of my bacon was fatty and I did not want to use one strip of pure fat. Also, I baked the roll ups for 30 minutes at 350 and it did not seem like enough. I increased the temperature to 375 and baked another 10 minutes and they were perfect. Before I served them I pulled out the toothpicks because I did not want anyone to accidently pop one in their mouth with the toothpick still in it. I will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I have no idea how these taste because they were gone in 10 minutes! They were a huge hit and even the guys were asking for the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Knox Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These are delicious. My friend has made these for years and I have loved them. But after reading the comments here I made a couple of additions. I added about 1/2 cup cooked and drained chopped spinach and 1 tablespoon Tastefully Simple Spinach and Herb Mix. I cut both the bread and bacon into thirds rather than in half. Also, rolling the bread, as suggested by one reviewer, made it easier. Do not precook the bacon as some have said. Adds a step that is not needed- you need the flavor of the bacon and your roll-ups are not at all greasy. Just drain on paper towels. Took to a party and were devoured! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great little appetizer, but agree with others that the cream cheese needed a little seasoning - I think I'll try the garlic powder next time. I used a light wheat bread instead of white and that worked/tasted great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliekk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These were the first appetizers to go the first time I served them at a party. They were so easy to make and the cream cheese can probably be substituted with another type of cheese or spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These are o freakin awesome!!!!!!! YAAAAAAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Huge hit! People were asking me for the recipe. I did add some seasonings to the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States