Bacon Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I guess it depends on what your used to... I followed the directions exactly as written and this had no flavor at all. Very juicy but we're used to marinating most of our meat before cooking it and this was just very bland and needed lots of salt to give it some taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Moist and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Love this recipe!! The chicken was perfect, very juicy and flavorful. Added tip: Boil the leftover chicken bones to make a stock. Makes a delicious base for homemade chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The All-Recipes community was right. This is a great recipe. I stuffed the cavity with onion and garlic. Used beef broth. Loved the flavor of the chicken and the drippings. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was easy and the chicken was very moist. Don't expect the chicken to taste like bacon, but it does add a suble flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very nice recipe I have made it several times from scratch. However, as a shortcut sometimes I will pick up a fresh rotisserie chicken the day before I want to prepare this meal. I refrigerate the chicken overnight and follow the steps in the recipe with the broth and bacon. I cover the chicken with foil and bake for 30 minutes at 350. I then increase temp to 425 and crisp the bacon on top. I serve my chicken with the bacon and everyone loves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made this recipe last night for my very picky 3 (my husband and my 2 boys age 11 & 13). I had some simple complaints. First of all, I really could not rub the butter on the chicken because the chicken was too cold. Even after I softened the butter a bit it just clumped together once it hit the cold chicken. My second complaint is that the cook time was longer than the recipe claimed. The only thing that I did differently was I put some brown suger in with the broth which gave the chicken and bacon a sweeter glaze. All of this said....my picky 3 gobbled it up. When I served it to them I said I probably won't make this again but after he finished eating it my husband told me I had better make it again. They all LOVED IT. So.....I will call this one a keeper! Thank you so much! Usually when I try a new recipe I'm the only one that will eat it because the other ones are too picky. This chicken is very flavorful and juicy...not dry at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Made this last night with chicken legs, back attached - was what I had. Placed them (2) over a bed of carrots, celery and onions and spiced them with S+P, thyme and poultry seasonings. Pierced the skin in a lot of places and basted with veg oil instead of butter. Placed bacon strips all over to cover - baked them for an hour, took off the bacon and baked for another 45 mins, basting once. The bacon and the chicken were delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Didn't like it. Thought that it was a waste of Bacon. Not very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wow. This recipe was so different from what I usually make but my family loves bacon. I followed the recipe for the most part but added garlic under the skin and inside the cavity as well as onions. I used a 5 pound chicken and had to cook it for at least 2o minutes longer. It was juicy and had a smoked flavor that my husband and boys loved. The gravy was so unexpectedly good. It's rich and I will consider making something like it for a breakfast gravy. Next time I think I will put bacon in the cavity as well to give the chicken an overall smoked bacon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States