Bacon-Roasted Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I modify the recipe a bit, by putting the potatoes on a foil lined cookie sheet with a wire rack holding the chicken placed over the top. This allows the drippings to flavor the potatoes and chicken to crisp up on all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I am not a fan of bacon wrapped but these were yummy. The trick is to not wrap the whole chicken pieces(I used thighs only) I cut the bacon in half and draped one or two halves over each thigh, thus allowing the bacon to be crispy, not soggy. I also added carrots. Turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My husband would give this 5 stars the way he ate it but it differed from the original recipe based on the others' comments on here. I used the frozen chicken breasts from a bag (still frozen). I covered the chicken with slices of bacon instead of wrapping them. I used cubed red potatoes and sprayed them and the onions with olive oil before cooking. I seasoned with dried rosemary, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I baked it at 400 degrees and it only took 40 minutes to cook! At serving time I sprinkled reduced fat Feta cheese on top! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I love this recipe so much. It is seriously the best tasting recipe for being so easy and simple. I only cook with chicken breasts since my fiancé and I are not big fans of dark meat, so that is what I used. There are so many reasons why I love this recipe so... the first being that I only have to dirty 1 PAN ONLY while cooking!! OMG!! Another reason is that you can toss in whatever spices you feel like. I made my own seasoning mix which included some paprika, garlic powder, thyme, basil, oregano, rosemary, parsley, salt, and a little bit of black pepper. I also drizzled over some olive oil. I popped it in the oven for like an hour or so, and the chicken came out super moist/juicy and the potatoes were fantastic. You can't really go wrong with the seasoning mix, so you could pretty much just use whatever you have on hand. I used a little bit of everything and it seasoned the potatoes and meat perfectly. :) Highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloudiestdragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great basic recipe idea... I made some alterations. Chicken breast cutlets with regular bacon slices layed on top of them, red potatoes(cubed), cover the whole thing with chopped onions and a mixture of granulated garlic, italian seasoning, and adobo. Baked at 375 for about 45 minutes... bacon was nice and crisp, potatoes were soft, Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Excellent. I used white meat for the chicken it was great. If corn is in season a little corn on the cob and another veggie and you got your self a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I'm always looking for new ways to cook chicken drumsticks- and this recipe is a keeper! I skinned the chicken, used regular peeled potatoes (didn't have yukon gold), and it turned out delicious. I did toss the potatoes in a little Italian dressing as someone else suggested because I was afraid the potatoes would dry out without any liquid in the dish. My kids and husband loved it- no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
First of all, bacon makes almost anything delicious. I changed it up a bit by using all drumsticks, because this is the easiest to eat for the children, and I also used a different blend of spices including a variety of peppers, garlic, and seasoned salt. I also used regular baking potatoes cut into large cubes and this seemed to work well. The end result was fantastic. I would have never thought to use bacon with chicken on the bone if not for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Very good. My family likes white meat so I used large skinless boneless breasts which I soaked in a brining solution for about 3 hours. I added carrots and portabello mushrooms. Gave the potatoes and other vegies a quick toss in italian dressing (just a little). SO good - the entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Pretty easy. I just threw this together with what I had lying around. A couple of chicken breasts, a half pack of regular bacon, and regular russets and an onion. It still turned out great. Really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States