Bacon-Roasted Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Very good flavor, but next time I would put the chicken and potatoes on a rack in the pan so the grease can drip off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Absolutely delicious, and the potatoes came out very tender. I followed the advice by other commenters and covered the tops of the chicken with the bacon rather than wrapping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
When I read the reviews for a recipe, I usually go to the "most helpful". but the recipe didn't say to remove the skin from the chicken, so the potatoes, etc. were so greasy, I couldn't eat them. I wrapped the bacon instead of draping over the meat...ugh. What a waste of bacon. Sorry. I had to mix the veggies in with my 4 dogs' dry food...they thought it was a preview of what heaven must be like. Perhaps using chicken breasts would be the only way to use this recipe, and maybe put the potatoes on a rack to keep them out of the bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My family liked it but needs a few tweaks. First the recipe does not say to remove the skin. I did not /the skin does not come out crispy. The bacon on top came out crispy and the bottom did not...should. turn over halfway. Lastly there is too much salt between the seasoning and the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Only used boneless thighs (what was on sale), totally wrapped each thigh with the bacon, set on a backing rack over pealed cut yukon golds, chunks of leeks, and halved brussel sprouts that had been tossed with a bit of olive oil. Made a version of Traci’s Adobo seasoning mix which went over both veggies and chicken before wrapped in the bacon. Baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, then turned over chicken bundles to avoid soggy bacon and baked for another 30 minutes. It came out great, though next time won’t use the rack, will place bundles directly on the veggies and still turn halfway, think it will give veggies even better flavor. Will be using this often, thanks for the quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This chicken was awesome and my husband loved it! I changed a few things based on other reviews and our preferences. I used chicken breasts and wrapped the bacon completely around them (about 2 strips per breast). I used just regular baking potatoes cut into chunks. I first put the chicken in the pan with the potatoes but I noticed that the bacon wasn't crisping like I wanted it to so I took the chicken out and put it on a rack above the potatoes for about the last 10 minutes of cooking. The potatoes were the best part!! I thought that they'd be overwhelmingly greasy from the bacon grease but they weren't and ended up perfectly flavored. Oh, I also used different seasonings, just garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt, and paprika. The only thing I will do differently the next time I make it will be to season the chicken before I wrap it in the bacon. I got a little excited to wrap the chicken and didn't even think about it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Delicious. Made with breasts, cooked in 45 minutes at 400. Used the idea to place chicken on a wire rack above potatoes. The bacon drippings made the potatoes extra flavorful and not greasy at all. I placed three thick bacon strips over each breast and served with honey mustard sauce. Killer. Might baste with mustard sauce under the bacon next time. And there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie LaBarba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I like the idea of this recipe but it didn't have much flavor and the grease from the bacon made the veggies all greasy(I added carrots along with potatoes) I might try this again and add a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I used regular potatoes and cut them similar to home fries. They took nearly 2 hrs to cook. Bacon was still not crispy. Maybe a larger pan? I did not have adobo seasoning but went online and it seems it is mostly more of the same seasonings plus some onion powder and oregano so I made my own. I actually only used 4 legs and left the seasonings the same. This was not bad but I will not likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
for extra flavor shake on some ranch dressing or italian dressing powdered mix before wrapping chicken or soak in some buttermilk with some dijon mustard mixed in it before wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States