Bacon-Roasted Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
dont forget to season....idea...put the potatoes diced in a ziplock with the seasonings, shake and cover all the potatoes with them...dont forget to use the salt. i was worried the bacon being salty itself would be too much so i used less....it still needed it. also sprayed the potatoes with butter flavored spray so they wouldn't burn during cooking. we also broiled the chicken covered bacon by itself because it wasn't completely crisp...pulled them out and made the bacon beautifully crispy on a cookie sheet until done to perfection.....the potatoes and chicken were perfect together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdifebo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I usually add onions and carrots and leave out the adobo seasoning. Also I use skinless boneless chicken thighs. Sometimes I use beef bacon. I find that it helps to cook the bacon a little before wrapping the chicken in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I put my potatoes and onions on the bottom of a foil lined roasting pan. Then my chicken on the rack above them, as someone else suggested and let the juices drip on the potatoes and onions. Simply, fairly quick, and you can use any combination of spices that sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I really loved the idea of this, but it did not meet my expectations. The dish was very dry despite the potatoes not being fully cooked and they were definitely cut small enough. I think that if I were to do this one again I would cover it to start and add some moisture - then remove the cover and let the bacon crisp up. Again, good idea with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmargaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Outstanding! My daughter an I loved it chicken and potatos were cooked perfectly! So Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Whoa on the pepper!! Way too much pepper for my taste, even though the rest of it came out really nice. I'll be trying this again with far less pepper, since it was overwhelming. But thanks for a recipe that let me use what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Excellent! This was so easy to prepare - I put the potatoes and onions in the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking dish, and put the bacon wrapped chicken on a baking rack on top of the dish. All of the wonderful juices dripped down on to the potatoes and onion, giving them a amazing flavor (I took the potatoes and onions out of the pan after cooking, and drained them on paper towels). This dish gets more than 5 stars in my opinion! It is an easy and elegant dinner to serve to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: West Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was so so good. I followed some of the other reviews. I cut up the bacon into small cubes and fried it to get the oil out. Instead of putting the dish in the oven I did it on the stove top put in the chicken first and sauted it for a couple of mins and then added the seasoning, onions, some of the bacon, potatoes, carrots and the rest of the bacon with more seasoning. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Very good- used chicken legs and thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I only used a teaspoon of pepper, I just thought a whole tablespoon was a little crazy. We didnt have dried chives so I used onion powder instead. I used all drumsticks and skinned them. I put the potatoes in a big roasting pan, seasoned with a little italian dressing and the seasoning mix, I also seasoned the chicken both before and after I wrapped them with the bacon. If you put the drumsticks on the top part of a broiling pan and put that pan over the potatoes, THEN turn the chicken over at the half hour mark, they will come out crispy and golden. The family thought it was ok, though they didn't rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathiJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States