Bacon Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious, although we love a little wine in it too so I added about 1/2 cup of wine while stirring. I also like to add some chopped chives to the mix before I serve. PS: when I'm out of Arborio rice I also use Japanese short grain & it's all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corina_m7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great recipe!!! Try and u won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Li

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. I love risotto and this is one of my favorites. The bacon/stock can make it a bit salty so be cautious adding any. I use vegetable stock and usually toss in some frozen peas at the end and they are a great addition. I have also been short on garlic on occasion and it is good without it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Yum, yum although a little salty. Will try again with unsalted butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This was AWESOME! Yes, we made some small tweaks, but like others, as a decent kitchen cook, I always make small changes according to taste. In this case, I saved the bacon grease and cooked the onion and garlic in that instead of butter, added some white wine with the chicken stock, added some garlic salt, and a tablespoon of truffle oil along with one tablespoon of butter. This was my first time making risotto and I'm SO pleased with how it turned out. My husband was amazed at how good it was, too. It's going into the rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennysmommy
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Amazingly good!!!!! Huge hit even my 18mo old loved it ate all on her plate and wanted more. I added mushrooms to it and it came out so good will making it again. I used it as a side dish for our talapia and shrimp. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Good but very salty and greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Hell's Kitchen may intimidate the risotto cook, but watch this video, have patience, and you will be PLEASANTLY surprised at the flavor and results. Earned top marks in my kitchen. Can see by adding any of the suggestions by other cooks, could only enhance this fabulous dish!! I did not add the egg yolk, and it still was satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I've made this a couple of times for guests and myself and it is fantastic! What's fun is that you can substitute parmesan for other kinds of cheese to vary the flavor and it works very well also. Great recipe, easy to follow instructions and makes a superb side-dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I have been wanting to make this for a long time. Much too my dismay, it was not as tastey as I was hoping. It was very salty. I will try it again but use unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States