Bacon Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Yum, yum although a little salty. Will try again with unsalted butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This was AWESOME! Yes, we made some small tweaks, but like others, as a decent kitchen cook, I always make small changes according to taste. In this case, I saved the bacon grease and cooked the onion and garlic in that instead of butter, added some white wine with the chicken stock, added some garlic salt, and a tablespoon of truffle oil along with one tablespoon of butter. This was my first time making risotto and I'm SO pleased with how it turned out. My husband was amazed at how good it was, too. It's going into the rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennysmommy
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Amazingly good!!!!! Huge hit even my 18mo old loved it ate all on her plate and wanted more. I added mushrooms to it and it came out so good will making it again. I used it as a side dish for our talapia and shrimp. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Good but very salty and greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Hell's Kitchen may intimidate the risotto cook, but watch this video, have patience, and you will be PLEASANTLY surprised at the flavor and results. Earned top marks in my kitchen. Can see by adding any of the suggestions by other cooks, could only enhance this fabulous dish!! I did not add the egg yolk, and it still was satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I've made this a couple of times for guests and myself and it is fantastic! What's fun is that you can substitute parmesan for other kinds of cheese to vary the flavor and it works very well also. Great recipe, easy to follow instructions and makes a superb side-dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I have been wanting to make this for a long time. Much too my dismay, it was not as tastey as I was hoping. It was very salty. I will try it again but use unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this first exactly as written and it was way, way too salty. But I wanted to give it another try since it seemed like a decent, although flawed, recipe. The second time, I used half of the bacon and it was delicious. With half of the bacon, this is a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This, in essance, has been our family's Thanksgiving "rice stuffing" for generations. The only thing we do differently is that we use a sticky white rice instead of arborio and we add an egg into the hot rice to bind everything together. It's best when stuffed in the turkey. The drippings give it a wonderful flavor. Can't wait to have this next week. Happy Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was great-I'll make it again! I had one unintentional change-I started slicing a large shallot instead of onion but the taste was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States