Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mucknort
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I rate the recipe 4 stars, but here's what I do to bring it up to a 5 (many dozens of potluckers agree): *Paul Newman's Ranch dressing right out of the bottle. I don't have to mess with ratios of milk/mayo/sour cream/etc., and it is one of the few Ranch products that doesn't contain MSG. *1 to 2 cups of chopped baby spinach. Sturdy flavorful leaf that doesn't wilt over time. *Real Bacon bits, 10 - 20 T, add to taste. Not enough bacon may be one reason a few feel this recipe is bland. *1 T minced garlic instead of powder. *1/2 to 1 whole bunch of diced (I use scissors) scallions. *1/2 c sun dried tomatoes (purchased dry, soaked in hot water for 5 min. before dicing). *1/2 to 1 pint grape (or cherry) tomatoes sliced in half or thirds hold up better than a chopped whole tom *for extra zing add 1 2.25 oz can of diced chili peppers or 1/4 cup of diced banana peppers. * I find stirring all "dry" ingredients together first before adding ranch dressing makes mixing easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Love this Recipe! Easily adaptable to what you have on hand. I always add carrot shreds, green pepper, red onion, black olives and cherry tomatoes to mine. (Love Pasta salad with tons of veggies) I also half the mayo and substitute the other half with sour cream and I use fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe was a hit at my backyard BBQ! My husband took the leftovers to work the next day and said it was even better the next day. When doubling the recipe, I would suggest buying 3 packets of the dry ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Better the 2nd day. I read 15 to 20 reviews before making this and the most common remarks/negatives about this salad were "bland" & "salty". Still, I was intrigued enough to try (thinking BLT, but BPT), so I thought long and hard about what changes would need to be made to address "bland" and "salty". Starting with the 2 boxes of pasta, I cooked it al dente. Drained and rinsed in cold water, then dumped in large bowl with ice and water to cool quickly. Drained on linen towel and refrigerated. Then I whisked together (double) 1 cup mayonnaise AND 1 cup sour cream, 2 pkgs ranch dressing mix, 2 cloves of minced garlic & 1 tsp fresh cracked pepper. Then I whisked in milk. I let this sit in the refrigerator for 2 hours because i know with powdered ranch dressings, if you try to eat the dressing immediately after mixing, it's gritty and very salty and bland. I fried 1.5 lbs of bacon and refrigerated. 2 hours before party time, I mixed the pasta with the sauce, then I crumbled the bacon adding it with the black olives, unsliced,whole grape tomatoes and sharp cheddar cheese. I have to say, I was surprised how bland the salad was. However, people really enjoyed it. In the meantime, while everyone ate, bite after bite I tried to figure out what I could have done differently. The answer came the day after the party upon eating a bowl of leftovers. Surprise! It was full of flavor! I was afraid to make this the day before worrying the bacon would be soggy and salad too dry, but it wasn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was so good! I added some chicken and doubled the sauce to it to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
If you like suddenly salad you'll probably love this. Not as flavorful as some we make, but still good. Followed recipe except used cherry tomatoes halved, and after a day in the fridge I removed them to replace with fresh as they were mushy. Also added a little milk for day 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This went over really well, I left out the tomatoes & olives as I knew there would be leftovers and I didn't want these to water it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Amazing the first time I made it. I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I made it I added a few things because of personal preference and it came out to be the best pasta salad I ever had. I added one avocado, a bag of real bacon bits instead of cooking the bacon, and 1/4 a pound of chopped hard salami. Everyone loved it, and someone asked for the recipe. Ill never make another pasta salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Great recipe. Big hit on 7/4. Made the recipe pretty much as written except used finely diced fresh garlic and mixed with dressing mix, regular pepper, and 2 cans of black olives (only because I love them!). FYI, if you measure the standard dry dressing package it equals 3 tablespoons, therefore, you should be using the whole package. There wasn't one spoonful left! Thanks Wilemon--very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States