Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Followed to the letter and it turned out perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poissanb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Most wonderful! Marinated for only 1 hour and used sriracha. Grilled/smoked and precooked the bacon. Added mushrooms to the skews. Made a avocado/ranch dressing to serve with. Also as sides used wild rice and cauliflower salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
DISASTER!! Not, the recipe, but my execution. Less expensive boneless chicken thighs and fat free Ranch work great. After a 1 hour marinade, I cut open the packages of bacon that I bought on sale so I could begin assembly, and HOLY COW, the bacon pieces were sliced anywhere from 1/4" thick to paper thin in each pack. There is no way any of these skewers would cook the same way with such extremes in thickness. I envisioned disaster. So, if this happens to you, here is a work-around: Stick to Chef John's recipe, adjusting the amount of spice to your taste. The buttermilk in the Ranch will make the chicken tender, even thigh meat, after only 1 hour. Cook your bacon to your preferred likeness. Save a bit of the grease and set aside. Cut/rip the bacon into pieces and set aside. Prepare your side dishes now because the next step is fast. Put just enough bacon grease into a large frying pan to coat the bottom and dump in the chicken, marinade and all. Simmer until the chicken is done (no pink) but not tough, maybe 5 minutes or so. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the chicken to a large bowl, add your cooked bacon, and mix to heat, but keep the marinade simmering on the stove until it reaches a nice gravy thickness. Add that to the chicken/bacon mixture and serve hot. I would have loved the kabob presentation, but this was just a yummy and probably quicker than using skewers. I served with scalloped potatoes and steamed veggies - HUGE hit. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Make these with a quality thick-sliced bacon and you definitely will not be disappointed. The family gobbled these up and raved about them. I large amount of the flavor comes from the bacon so you'll definitely not want to skimp with a cheap or less flavorful variety here -- use quality ingredients and you'll definitely like the outcome. We'll definitely be making these again. It was great to have a different, yet scrumptiously delicious, option to grill. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These skewers were FANTASTIC! The combination of chicken, bacon, red onions and ranch dressing is irresistible. One dish our family will have again I. The near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauriSuchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
These are so simple and taste great. I had to substitute tabasco for the chile paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Made this for a dinner party and despite regretting how much time it took to thread the skewers, it was well worth the effort. Everyone raved how fantastic they were. The flavours combined well and they were just as good as leftovers. Note - I made them ahead of time and put them on a plate covered in plastic wrap in the fridge for 2 hours so I wasn't stuck in the kitchen while my guests arrived. BBQ trick - wrap your serving plate with plastic wrap before putting raw meat on it. Once you put your meat on the grill, remove the plastic wrap and your plate is now safely ready to put the cooked meat on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
My husband LOVED this. I marinated it in southwest ranch and pepper flakes and used turkey bacon (he doesn't even like turkey bacon) He said it was the BEST kabob he's ever had! I also added green peppers to the ends w/ the onion. I made a blander version for the kids and me, and it was pretty good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal M Pate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
My family loved this recipe and it was really good! I made my own Ranch from scratch and didn't need to blot with paper towels; it was very tender and juicy. Will def make again! Mixed sambal with ranch at table for the dip, too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Made this recipe recently and it came out perfect. I used thick cut double smoked bacon and next time I might use extra red onion threaded throughout the Kebab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOEANDSUE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Chef John’s Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Spicy chorizo sausage adds big flavor to lean chicken and veggie skewers.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States