Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
The only thing that had flavour for us was the bacon, but it did not cook enough before the chicken was done. It was soft and chewy. I agree with another review that the bacon should be partially cooked beforehand to give it a crisp taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane_Sainsbury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Loved this enough that I was looking forward to leftovers, but there weren't any! Only issue I had was the bacon didn't cook properly. I did use the thick cut but suspect I didn't space everything out enough. The marinade was terrific and made for some tasty, juicy chicken. I'll do this again and may try both spacing kabobs out a little more to give the bacon more room to cook and maybe precooking the bacon slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Made this time 3 this weekend for a large family event. Huge hit. They were delicious and beautiful. Even the pickiest of eaters in the family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
These were by far the best skewers I have ever had. We use Harvestland organic chicken in our house and it was so tender after marinating in the ranch mixture for 3 hours. I used Sriracha instead of chili paste and I cooked the bacon in the microwave for about 2 mins (1 min on each side) because we don't like chewy bacon at all! I added some red peppers and extra onions to the skewers. I made a side of ranch & Sriracha for us to dip the skewers in. We made 5 of them- for 2 people- and ate every one. They were delicious and I can't wait to make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Delicious! I used Srirach Hot Chili Sauce. The bacon was a perfect addition. Makes me want to experiment more with bbq-ing chicken and making kabobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Fantastic. I used spicy salsa instead of chili paste and marinated over night. Served with jasmine rice and green beans and had smiles all around the table. The video was helpful and the wrapping kept everything nicely together. Deeeeeeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R2daws
Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Very tasty! we skipped the hot chile paste on the first time through, as my teen and I are not into spicy foods. And we cooked them in a cast iron skillet since we have no bbq, but with more ranch for dipping they were awesome! Will be making again. PS- I also let them marinate for 2 days in Litehouse Ranch dressing and the meat was very tender and flavorful. Next time I will pull out the indoor grill and try some hot sauce in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sicamous, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Great taste & *so* easy & quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Nice change doing chicken with bacon. The success to this recipe is to slightly precook the bacon. No one likes half cooked bacon. Additional spices like garlic, paprika, etc. are needed for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Although I loved the concept of chicken, ranch dressing and bacon...I didn't think the taste was as bold as it should have been. Could it have been the ranch dressing? I bought thick sliced Applewood bacon, and the chicken breast. Followed instructions precisely and even watched the video. I agree it was easy...maybe marination period should have been longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Chef John’s Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Spicy chorizo sausage adds big flavor to lean chicken and veggie skewers.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States