Bacon, Potato and Cheese Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Loved this recipe! I did add onions and some more spices but outer than that I didn't change anything! Make sure you slice the potatoes nice and thin and you'll be good to go. I even loved the fontina cheese, it was all delicious. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelbyL

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this last nite.It was great! A meal in Itself! I did put the beaten egg on the first layer and used cheddarjack cheese. next time I will add broccoli. No need for a anything else with it!! But do cover the top with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was delicious! I made it with my Kitchen Aid mixer using the Slicer&Shredder attachment. SOOOOO easy!! Just slice up onions, potatoes and cheese all into one bowl and toss. Skip the butter you don't need it. I used swiss cheese too because it was what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty. Not for those looking for a light grease free dish though;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I put this into a baked crust in a tart pan & served with sour cream on the side. Very, very good & a nice change from a plain old baked potato. I served this for my morther-in-law's birthday & she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I decided to try this and once I did my kids went crazy over it! I have to make it at least once a week now. I do add a bit of milk to the potatoes and add onions in with the potatoes and cheese for extra flavor. I've used different kinds of cheese and think I'll try turkey bacon to try and cut down on some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Will make again, but will add some onions and will be sure to put the bacon on top so it actually cooks and the fat seeps downward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Bacon, Potatoes and Cheese. How can it be bad? The taste was great and I received a lot of compliments. Everyone loved this. I did have a couple small problems that I will keep in mind when making this again. The butter, although only 1 Tbs. is not necessary and only adds to the bacon grease that pools on the top/sides. I had to drain A LOT of grease from these before taking to the table. I didn't use 18 slices of bacon, closer to 12, but should have expected this. The baking time was approx. 20 min longer in my oven and could have stood 5 - 10 min longer but everything else was done and waiting so I just went with it. The bacon on the bottom was not crisp or brown at all. Next time, I think I will just arrange the bacon across the top. I will also add more cheese next time. The fontina got a little lost. Most of these things can be fixed easily and as much as everyone commented on these, I will definately be making them again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Simple and delicious. I just used cheddar, and it did take a little longer to cook, but I just covered it with foil and turned the temp. down for the last little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I found this to be too "greasy" for my tastes when using the bacon as the tart "crust" and I wasn't able to serve it straight from the oven given the build up of the grease in the areas where the bacon edges curled away from the edge of the tart pan. On the plus side, I was pleasantly surprised that my young (picky) niece and nephew went back for 2nds of this -- hard not to like bacon and potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States