Bacon Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was amazing! I didn't have apple butter, so I used unsweetened applesauce. I didn't have allspice, so I used cinnamon and a dash each of nutmeg and cloves. With wrapping, I sure didn't get 8 slices to do the deed twice... I used a whole pound to get it fully covered one time. Not that there's anything bad about that... Anyhow, I tasted the sauce before using it, and found it very, very bright and sweet, with little depth. So I added about a teaspoon of decaf instant coffee (unreconstituted). That added some nice depth to the flavor. Since I couldn't wrap the tenderloin twice, I glazed the meat itself, then wrapped it, then cooked 30 minutes, then glazed again, then returned to the oven. This got rave reviews, and I will make it again! By the way, those mentioning 160* as the proper temperature, the USDA has finally caught up with the chefs and has lowered the temp to 145*. Trichinae is very rare in the USA these days, and is killed at temps below 145* anyway. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeopardMoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dan
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Was an excellant dinner,all my kids ate really well and kept coming back for seconds. I will make more glaze next time as well as put some on in the last ten minutes of cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Cook time is way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard England

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Like breezy75, I had to cook it 1 1/2 hours. I think I would increase the spices to add a little more zip. May try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Was trying to find something different to do with a pork loin that I had and found this recipe. It was an instant hit! My daughter (who is critical of most things I cook) absolutely loved it and even wanted the leftovers the next day! It was flavorful and moist, even after reheating in the microwave the next day. I think the only thing I will do different next time is double the amount of the sauce to spread on it so that there's a little more of a glaze. I did have to adjust the cooking time for mine, but that wasn't a big deal. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Tonight will be my second time cooking this in the past 30 days, it is that good! I did not have apple butter either time, so I substituted squeezable applesauce. Also, I am using pre-cooked bacon this time (another user suggestion). The taste the first night is fabulous, but the flavor when you heat up the leftovers (if there are any) is amazing! Oh, I did not cook on 325 degrees. My tenderloin had cooking directions of 425 for 25-30 minutes. I believe that the original author of this recipe might have meant that, because at 425 degrees for 27 minutes my pork is perfect temp and texture. Making this a fantastic week night quick fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Lovely eating. I found the that cooking time was longer than expected. Wonderfully juicy and enjoyed the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Was good but I will use about 1/3 of the bacon the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Amazing! But how bad can something wrapped in bacon be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
First time cooking pork tenderloin roast. Family and I loved it. Great flavor combination. Will definitely cook again. Thanks, Aimee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States