Bacon Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
It's bacon grease and you don't need to refrigerate it. People have been leaving it in a thick cup on their stove's, for ages. I just wouldn't leave it longer than a month. Take a paper towel and cover it with a rubber band.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Made with 1/2 c. popcorn and 3 tbsp. bacon grease. Topped with 2 tbsp. of melted bacon grease and salt. very tasty, but next time I will add 1 more tbsp of bacon grease for the topping for more bacon flavor. very cool idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Yum-ay! I scaled this down to four servings for my boys and I. Simple and pretty straightforward. I omitted the cheese and bacon bits as the bacon grease would have been enough on it's own and stuck to plain salt. Surprizingly good. Would have never thought of using bacon grease to make popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
At his annual Christmas Potluck at work, hubs said someone brought popcorn that, believe it or not, was made with bacon grease. He raved about it and it caught my attention - it's hard to think of something that isn't even better with bacon, so I decided to give it a whirl. As a popcorn purist I kept it plain and simple - just popped the popcorn in the bacon grease (didn't measure either) and added a little salt. It really was quite good! While it won't take the place of real buttered popcorn for me, it was an interesting variation I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I have made popcorn this way my entire adult life. After frying any kind of meat, ie: bacon, hamburgers, steak, porkchops,etc, I love to pop corn in the pan before I wash it. Fantastic flavors !! Depending on what you cooked, a little more oil may have to be added...or subtracted :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was delicious! I only used 1/4 cup of bacon grease, and plain salt - no bacon bits or cheese. The more you ate it, the more you could taste the bacon. This is a fun way to change up popcorn every now and then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was how we made popcorn, when I was a kid. I also sprinkle dry ranch dressing on it, instead of the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potato_lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was how we made popcorn when I was a kid. Still a go-to comfort treat. My husband thinks I'm nuts, but please try it - it's great. I've never put cheese in it, but I love to eat a chunk of cheddar with popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I grew up with making popcorn with bacon grease too. I still make it that way. My grandmother would use an old pot on the stove and it tasted GREAT. I use popcorn popped in grease to make popcorn balls. It is a different flavor and so delicious. Thanks for posting this. I think I will make some tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I would think that the bacon grease should be refridgerated and I would be afraid to send this with a lunch that could not be refridgerated. Otherwise, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States