Bacon Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The family and I love just about everything that includes bacon. I keep all of my bacon drippings for pies, tortillas and everything in between. So when I saw this I just had to try it. Awesome! Although I did not add cheese or bits it had enough flavor from the grease. I did add some cajun seasoning and it was yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have cooked everything with bacon grease except popcorn. It was great, just as I knew it would be. I was 18 years old before I knew a veggie came anyway besides fried...haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made this according to the recipe. It's ok, but nothing special. I won't be making this version again. Very weak in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Duh! Sixty years ago, bacon grease was the only way our family made popcorn. It and lard were the greases that we had. Try lard the next time you make popcorn. add butter and salt. Pork fat rules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
cant wait to make it this camping weekend! as a bacon lover...i play often. one of my favs is chocolate covered bacon! sounds yucky, but trust me, its the bees knees!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lords Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I love popcorn, but my family didn't care for this recipe. The bacon flavor just didn't really do anything for us and the cheese and bacon added was too heavy for popcorn. It's just a matter of taste, I guess. Try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Small crock of bacon grease on the back of the stove all the time when I was growing up. It was used for just about everything...green beans, fried potatoes, fried corn, greens of every kind and of course POPCORN!!! Back then never thought of making popcorn any other way. We just added regular salt to it. This is just a great way to revisit my childhood and my grandparents house. Thanks for posting. You have introduced many more people to bacon popcorn and have proven that bacon makes everything better. Becky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Just add bacon salt and you have it made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Must agree with CATHY, May 2012. My mother and grandmother always kept a jar on the stove to which bacon fat was added. It was used for everything -- greasing potatoes before roasting, mini yorkshires, fried bread and of course our popcorn. It was a real treat to have our bacon popcorn while watching Have Gun....., 77 Sunset Strip, etc. Our big treat to go with the popcorn was a tall glass of 1/2 orange juice and 1/2 gingerale. And this popcorn and my gingerale/oj is what I shall enjoy this evening while watching tv.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Different. We did use the bacon bites, but not the cheddar cheese. Will probably only make for a change from regular popped popcorn. Do thnk next time we'll add the cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States