Bacon Mushroom Swiss Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Wow, this was probably the best meatloaf I've ever made! The changes I made were to omit the evaporated milk (I was making this with 8oz meat, and didn't want to open a whole can for for a couple of tsps), add a heaped tbsp of French Onion soup mix, and I put a thick slice of cheese on top at the end so it would melt down nicely. We both really enjoyed this. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
My family really liked this. I added more mushrooms and as I didn't have any cornflakes I used breadcrumbs instead. I think when I make this again I might save some mushrooms to go on top as well. Hubby said can you make this again soon. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This tastes just like my favorite burger! I made this with ground turkey and used over 8 ounces of mushrooms. I left everyting else the same. It turned out wonderful! The whole family loved it. Even my newly picky 3 year old ate a whole slice. The prep did take a bit longer than my normal meatloaf, but no reason not to make this again! Thanks ~TNT~ for the recommendation and NICOLETTE for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is my family's favorite meatloaf! I've made this so many times, I almost know it by heart. I've done it with cheddar cheese instead of swiss for variation and I've used regular milk instead of evaporated. It always turns out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LJHighby
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I doubled the recipe to make sure there would be leftovers. Boy, I was wrong. My family gobbled up everything. It is delicious. I love the smell in the house when cooking this meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJHighby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This wonderful meatloaf was a BIG hit in my house. My boys don't care for meatloaf, but my husband does, so I am always looking for a new way to make meatloaf. For the first time I can remember there were no leftovers. The interesting variety of textures and flavors made this dish a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Solin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I agree that it was a lot of work for a meatloaf. I also added worchestershire sauce to the mix. It was pretty good, but the cheese was lost inside, so I think I would just stir in cubed cheese if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I thought this was pretty good for meatloaf. My favorite burger is the bacon, mushroom, swiss so I thought this was a natural for meatloaf. Unfortunately my family caught on that there were mushrooms in it and even though they ate it, said they didn't like it! The meatloaf they liked best was the That's A Meatloaf from this site. I didn't think it took a lot of time to prepare - no more than any other dinner that you have to do some prep for. It was done right at the time it said. If I were to make it again (just for myself!) I'd put more mushrooms in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I added several roasted, chopped green chiles to the hamburger mixture and seasoned with red pepper. Best meatloaf ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama T

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This is the best meatloaf I have ever ate. Just when I was going to give up on meatloaf I tried this recipe and it was so delicisious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States